Skip to content

A Big, Fat Thanks-Seriously. Really & Truly.

January 10, 2010

Another year older, and honestly? Much, much wiser. And happier-everytime I think, this is it. It can’t get better. It does. So today I have mainly been thankful. Going along with that theme…thanks to you guys that read.

I never thought I was funny. Spastic. Clumsy. Outspoken. Terribly Loud. Often inappropriate. Ifanythingweirdwasgoingtohappenithappenedtome. Check times 6. Until recently, I stuck with this belief. But people, especially since the starting of this blog, tell me I am. Hilarious even. Like, lots of people, and even some I don’t know so I don’t think my hubs bribed them to tell me this (not all of them at any rate). So I really don’t think they are saying “Oh my God, you are hilarious/wildly entertaining/slightly inappropriate/made me pee my pants!” in a “No, that’s not a dumb question” or, “That is the most beautiful baby I’ve ever seen!” sort of way.

À la Sally Field-you like me! I’ve been a “writer” my whole life. My parents, who rock more than they know, always encouraged both my sister and I to read and be creative and to get outside and not come back until it’s dark or someone’s bleeding. I would sit for hours on this rock in our backyard, conveniently shaped like a chair/throne and read and come up with stories. I often wandered around in pj’s, a feather boa, and a tiara-often sleeping in the tiara. I actually can’t even recall a time when I wasn’t writing a story. But it was always just that, stories. I wrote a play in 3rd grade for my Brownie Troop (*shudder* and refer to The Not So Great Outdoors). I even wrote some poems here and there but I peaked at that in 5th grade with a haiku about fog. By the time I was in high school, I had even won some awards for short stories. By college I had gotten out of the habit of writing. Since most of my writing took place when I was bored in class and by college, well-let’s just go with there wasn’t so much an opportunity to be bored in class since I didn’t go with much frequency. Afterwards…I’m not really sure what happened. Marriage and baby and work and another marriage and so on and so it goes.

A few years ago, I realized something was missing and then I started writing again. Not so much a journal, but essays if you will on things that had happened. It cleared my head and relaxed me. I posted a few blogs on MySpace but that was about the extent of it.

It has always been my very whole life long dream to have a book published-and hopefully a hair dresser and driver to go with it. (I loathe blow-drying my hair-I need to become famous before I resort to wigs-good ones are pricey and that’s money that could go to handbags or shoes.)

I never thought anyone would be interested in real stories that weren’t about heroes or politicians or historical figures, until I read Jen Lancaster. She was funny, she was smart, she was loud…and she had books. And people read them. I know it’s cliché but I really can’t describe it any better than a light bulb went off over my head. I started a blog, I posted occasionally. People started reading more, strangers started contacting me…and not in a scary/stalker way. (In all fairness, I’ve known almost everyone who has ever stalked me. I think that makes it better?) And the funny thing was, even though I didn’t think I cared, the more I started posting-the more people started reading. And the more personal and honest, and I guess funnier I was, LOTS more people started reading-it was a rush. A really nice warm and fuzzy feeling. Awww…

People started sending encouragement, tips on how to make the site itself better (I’m technically retarded when it comes to web stuff-feel free to keep sending tips)-it was absolutely beyond amazing. I’ve had people suggest I start a fan page on facebook for my blog so my friends can share it with their friends that I am not friends with, convoluted-no? I’ve had people I’ve never met send me messages thru facebook and twitter. People have even said they think I should write a book-I am especially fond of those folks. I’ve only received one hate mail-I’m sure that will eventually change because I will offend someone at some point in time. But I even liked that! I’ve even had people tell me I’m brave for putting everything out there, honestly it’s just that I don’t have enough sense to be embarrassed by anything. My favorites have got to be the kind words from strangers and when someone I know says, “Hey. Someone that doesn’t even know you just sent me your blog link and said I had to read you.” Love that. My mom has started reading my blog-she somehow just discovered this week that I even have one. That was a little tense for me, but her biggest complaint? Why aren’t there more blogs about me? My hubs has NEVER read my blog, because he continues to think they are all about him and things he does to piss me off. He doesn’t get that I am not even irked by him. I somehow, incredibly, lucked out and got the best person, for me, that was out there. He could wear blue jean shorts and it wouldn’t bother me-even if they were acid washed shorty-shorts with the pockets dangling out. My soul mate (feel free to gag, I probably would. But that doesn’t make it any less true-or amazing.) I’m blown away by that every day. Heck, I’m blown away people read my foolishness. This summer I started begging my sister for a logo and a cartoon me-I don’t know why, I just wanted them. And she recently came thru-in a big way-she’s crazy talented, in many ways.

So basically, this jumbled; rambling mess is a humungous thank you. You kids keep reading and I’ll keep writing. Deal?  Love it.

Lots of ideas:

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 11:57 AM

    Honey, PUHLEEZE don’t give up. I had the same revelation when I first picked up Jen Lancaster’s stuff.. I was all, “DUDE, I WROTE A BOOK UNDER SOMEONE ELSE’S NAME ABOUT SOMEONE ELSE’S LIFE!” Turns out, I didn’t write it. It was a rough couple of days.

    But you’re so funny and so witty and so snarky and I think you can do it. One day I’m going to meet you cause I know you’re already part of our Coven.

  2. amyblam permalink*
    January 14, 2010 2:51 PM

    Thank you ma’am! Looking forward to meeting you for real. Oh! I’ve always wanted to be part of a coven.

Leave a Reply

