Skip to content

2009, aka My Lazy Post OR I know I’ve been slacking at the posting and am sorry.

February 22, 2010
tags: , ,

So I’ve seen this on several sites. Too many, in fact to flat out say who exactly I ripped it off from. And being that it’s almost March-I’m a little late to the party. As usual.

But here goes anyways:

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?  Went camping and made it thru the night without calling my dad to come get me.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t do new year resolutions, I like to make mine in the fall. That’s always seemed a more apropos time for change and starting over than just the switch of a calendar. Plus, winter makes me lazy and depressed. I am convinced I suffer from that seasonal deficiency thing that has to do with sunlight and all that crap.
 

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

The monkeys. Although the actual birth did not happen close to me, praise be to jeebus. (See below)
 

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, no one that I was close to-either emotionally or merely by proximity. Which is fortunate as I try to avoid funerals. And anything sticky. (Though truly I am most excellent in a crisis situation)

5. What countries did you visit?

Ummm…Mexico.  And my passport has numerous stamps from Crazyville, part of the A.S.S Republic.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009? Scheduled times. You know, like write an hour at a certain time every day. Exercise a certain hour every day. Avoid getting sucked into bad tv and realizing it’s 2pm and time to do carpool and I haven’t brushed my teeth and have been drooling on myself.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? October 27th, our two year wedding anniversary (take that crazy biatches)

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Starting my blog and making it fancy-some thanks are owed on this. Thanks to those who pushed, encoruaged, and offered suggestions AND to the always, lovely Miss for the graphic design. Even though it was just done as a ploy to keep me from whining.

9. What was your biggest failure? Putting up with unacceptable situations and people for far too long

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Shockingly, I have never broken a bone. (Clifford broke my finger in 2008 so I don’t actually count that) I did  spectacularly bruise my ass in one of my many falls down my stairs. But mainly, just the general stomach yuckness same as always.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Tory Burch studded leather satchel -mine is in Cognac. And several pairs of kick ass shoes.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? J & bratchild-always. They are amazing.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Some really shitty folk I’m relieved to have out of my life. Those who commit random acts of violence. A lot of folks in government. J’s always insane and full of shit ex.

14. Where did most of your money go? House, general bills, J’s crazy & worthless ex-wife. (see above)

15. What did you get really excited about? Family trips to Pensacola Beach, New Orleans, Savannah, Baltimore/DC, Auburn. J coming to Vegas for a night. My blog. Mexico. Shoes. My breakfast casserole I learned to make. The chicken/brocoli/cheese/rice casserole I “created”. Smashbox long wear lip gloss. Purpose soap being re-released. Meeting Jen Lancaster. This really cool architectural niche I picked up at the museum’s white elephant sale. What didn’t I get excited about? It doesn’t take much to thrill me. Attention span of a flea on crack that’s bathed in glitter. I’m being glass half full and taking excited only in the positive sense.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009? Between Two Lungs by Florence and the Machine

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
– happier or sadder? Happier-I get happier year after year
– thinner or fatter? Depends on the day and the state of my stomach-I can drop 10 pounds in a few days if my tummy is in food rejecting mode   – richer or poorer? I always find it tacky to talk $$$ but we did unload the rv (without me having to commit an act of arson), pay off my car and some other bills.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Told people what I think. I’m actually not being sarcastic in this. There are some people I should have told some things much sooner than I did. Sleep.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worry. I’m so anal retentive, always trying to plan for every single possibility and thinking I can control everything. And I can’t. Unfortunately.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

Like always. Christmas Eve church, though I will be THRILLED when bratchild is old enough for the 11pm service and spent Christmas Day at my parents. This year, our lights were featured on WHNT and next year we already have even more planned.

21. Did you fall in love in 2009? More and more. every. single. day.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Tough call. Gossip Girl, Ghost Whisperer, Kathy Griffin, Real Housewives of NY and I just love, love, love America’s Next Top Model. I can’t explain it.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Actually, I don’t really hate anyone anymore. Pity? Yes. Not willing to drag myself down by spending time with certain people? Yes. Times twelve.

24. What was the best book you read? Lord, I read a million books. I re-read American Gods so I will probably count that.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Florence and the Machine. Crazy good. Technically, J discovered them and put it on my laptop for me to find.

26. What did you want and get? Great family, awesome hubs, cool ass dog-same as always. A renewed sense of self and things I want and don’t want.

27. What did you want and not get? A sisterwife, hairdresser, chauffeur, minions.  A hitman (always on the top of my wish lists-but not on Amazon. That may be the one thing you can’t buy from them) A diamond tiara. A book deal. (My hubs SWEARS I have minions but I have yet to locate them)

28. What was your favorite film of this year? 500 Days of Summer

 
29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I was a reader at my Whit & Will’s wedding. Wore my fabulous Swarovski crystal encrusted shoes I made and was overserved by a bartender-several of them to be precise.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? A book deal? Although the sisterwife and diamond tiara are certainly in the running.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?   Same as always. Classic. Black. Killer shoes and handbags.                                                                                                                                    

32. What kept you sane?

Knowing that, for the most part, I was doing what was right for me and the people I care about.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Chelsea Handler or Jen Lancaster-toss up.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

SO many things. Honestly though? Health care pissed me off a lot. I just don’t think the government should be involved in health care-or lots of the things they “handle” for that matter. Although I will not discuss politics with people. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

35. Who did you miss?

I don’t miss anyone per se, I miss who they USED to be.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

I can’t think of any new people I met. It doesn’t mean they were not excellent people, it just means I have a migraine kicking in and can’t remember anyone. If it was you, feel free to comment and remind me of that.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.
That just because something is widely accepted doesn’t make it true. And just because someone is the loudest, doesn’t mean they’re right.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.


I’ve fallen out of favour
And I’ve fallen from grace
Fallen out of trees
And I’ve fallen on my face
Fallen out of taxis
Out of windows too
Fell in your opinion…

Because falling’s not the problem
When I’m falling I’m at peace
It’s only when I hit the ground
It causes all the grief

This is from Falling by Florence and the Machine. Fortunately, I’ve never particularly cared what most people think…BUT I do fall down-lots.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 7:26 PM

    I think all of the Snark ladies should go. We would RUN that place!

  2. amyblam permalink*
    February 22, 2010 7:43 PM

    To blogher? Let’s go!

  3. March 15, 2010 4:27 AM

    I noticed you guys have been talking about high heels and I wanted to share something with you that you might be interested in…

    A little over 2 years ago, my husband and I were married in Los Angeles, California. Unfortunately, the day of our wedding was spoiled with rain. We had been having the wedding out on the grass and believe it or not, I was wearing high heeled shoes! They were ruined by the end in the day 😦

    Despite the fact that this was one from the worst experiences I’ve ever had with my shoes, it actually led my sister in law to create a product which is just awesome! It is already been featured on TV shows like the Girls of the Playboy Mansion, and also the show Kendra.

    Heels Above will assist you protect your costly heels from sinking in mud, slipping in cracks, and walking on sand and gravel. It’s a new merchandise, and I thought I’d share it with all of you.

    They’re taking orders now. You can order one pair, or a few dozen for your big wedding day.

    I hope you guys like it… If you have any questions, feel free to drop them an email on their website:
    Heels Above

    Here’s a photo of it in action:

    Lex

Trackbacks

  1. Well, at least it’s not the end of February… « Amy's Blam

Leave a Reply

