Skip to content

Prison Wives & Run DMC-not related

February 23, 2010

So I’m sitting here watching Cash Cab with  J and bratchild. (Anyone else think the host is hot? Just me?) And ANYHOO-they are promoting Prison Wives, touting it as “thirteen of the most extraordinary love stories of our time”-or something like that. And from what I can gather-many of the couples featured met and were married WHILE one of them was in prison. I’ve had some pretty awful first dates-but none of them involved jail, though some of them probably would have fared better had one party been behind bars…and a few of them are such tools they should be locked up now just to prevent them from annoying anyone else.

I mean, really, what kind of parents do these people have? (I frequently wonder this when watching Reality TV-I don’t know about the parents of some of these train wrecks but I am fairly sure, even at 33, MINE would come and yank me back home, possibly locking me in my room for eternity. ) I can only imagine what would have happened had I come  and told my ‘rents that I was marrying someone that was in prison. Really? How do these people even meet? Cause I really can’t see my sister coming in and being like :”Yo, my boyfriend just got out of prison and he says there are some hot men you should meet.”

One woman said: “He was the man of my dreams.” Seriously? See, the whole prison thing would pretty much negate any of his good qualities as the man of  MY dreams is definitely NOT currently incarcerated. (He’s actually in the next room with Clifford, snacking on Swedish Fish and either playing Xbox or looking at various gun sites/forums/parts for sale.) Ideally, he would have never been in prison. I know the hubs has never spent any time in the Big House but seeing as how he’s from the New Orleans area, I imagine there has been a brief visit.  His bar fights with Harry Connick, Jr. and Brett Farvre (is that how you spell that?) could have been contributing factors. (Both TOTAL a-holes according to him.) I’d go ask him but then he would want to know why and he’s already had a significant amount of laughter at my expense today. Which brings me to…

Run DMC. I have loved 2 of Jay Z’s recent songs and have been subjecting J to them upon occasion. “Run this Town” and “Empire State of Mind”. The latter J thinks is the funniest thing he’s ever heard, it kills him when he says: “ride her like a bus route.” The hubs finds this terribly amusing. Anyhoo-also while watching Cash Cab, we saw a commercial for Brooklyn’s Finest in which Richard Gere plays a COP, a BROOKLYN cop. Anyone else not buy this in the slightest? He’s not that good of an actor. But, they play “Run this Town” as the music in the preview which made me ask J about something I’d been pondering. “I know a lot of stuff in rap is all about rhyming but I really don’t understand it when he talks about shoes without shoe strings.” J looks mildly amused, I’m sure dying to find out where this is going. He already finds my affection for booty music strange because, according to him, I am the whitest person ever, as he says “conceived where Anglo met Saxon.” J attempts to explain this:

J: “Is he talking about old people?”

Me: “Ummm, I don’t think so? That really doesn’t make sense.”

J: “Maybe it’s an homage to Run DMC-oh wait, you probably don’t know who they are. But they never had shoelaces in any of their shoes”

Me: “Dude, I totally know who Run DMC is-I LOVE the version of “Walk this Way” they did with Aerosmith.”

J: (laughing so hard I’m fairly sure garlic chicken went up his nose) “Oh baby, that’s cute. You really don’t know who they are. They were old then, brought out of retirement to do a song with even older people.”

Me: “I’m glad you’re entertained. However, I still don’t know what shoes without shoestrings means.”

So I’m throwing it out to you guys. Anyone?

(Also? Mike Rowe is HOT. But I’m still a little pissed about the hubs almost ruining Boar’s Head Garlic Bologna-one of the yummiest things ever-by making me watch that episode of Dirty Jobs in HIGH-DEF. So not okay.)

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 10:07 PM

    I dunno, what, loafers? Or they’re so “street,” they can’t afford shoelaces? I give up, too, honestly, although I am also very, very white..

Leave a Reply

