Skip to content

Fin. And an Idea.

March 2, 2010

I HAVE DONE IT!

I have reached the end. I never, ever thought I would achieve this lofty goal of mine-a lifelong dream if you will. But after beginning this journey in my twenties, at the age of thirty-three, I think I am finally finito. Finished. Caput. Done. Stick a fork in me.

This has been a long and arduous trip; painful, frustrating, time-consuming, and at times pricey but in the end, I think it was all worth it.

I have finally located, humungous drum roll, the shoe that completes my collection. For three years, I have been searching for the perfect neutral shoe. I am opposed to shoes in tones of bone, ivory, and god forbid white. And magazines have long been touting the magical and transforming properties of the premier nude shoe. They will make your legs longer and shapelier-and no exercise is required. WHAT is not to be desired about that? I’ve mentioned on more than one occasion my distaste for sweat-inducing activities-other than a choice one or two so anything that makes my legs look better with not much actual effort on my part is absolutely fabulous. Of course, at that time I didn’t realize how futile my quest would be at times-but now that it’s over? I have found the holy grail of nude pumps.

Some were too light, some too dark. Some were suede or patent-which I didn’t want, some were too pointy. Some looked cheap or had too low of a heel. Or were a wedge or had an unattractive platform.  A few were too high and even more were entirely too flat. A few pairs were downright crippling and a cast was certainly not going to elongate anything.

Before I unveil the masterpiece of my collection, I have had an idea.

People ask me about my shoe collection constantly, and it really is pretty spectacular. Plus, many of them have actual stories. Where I bought them, what they were worn for, something that happened while I was wearing them, etc. SO I have decided my blog is going to feature a …duh duh duh nuh!..a shoe of the month. At the current count I can keep this going for approximately 10 years, give or take a little. Heck, some of the shoes I have had longer than 10 years. I have shoes with jeweled frogs, pink shoes with swarovski flowers, shoes with rhinestones that wrap around the ankle, red patent leather, sparkly thongs-you name it, I probably have it. Obsessed much? Maybe just ever so slightly. So I’m thinking around the 1st of each month, I will present the shoe of that particular month.

Until then and without further ado, here is the shoe of the month for March!

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. betsy permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:26 PM

    now i know why you and lara lea got along so well!!!
    you both have an obsession with the shoe.

  2. March 4, 2010 6:50 PM

    I think I love you… and your shoe collection. I need a field trip to come view the gloriousness!
    – Stephenie W.

  3. amyblam permalink*
    March 4, 2010 9:51 PM

    I should have a closet party!

Leave a Reply

