Skip to content

So we all know how I LOVE THE Spanx.

March 9, 2010

Seriously. Despite my crotchless mishaps and terribly unsexy wrasslin’ matches during which my hubs tries to get me into the Spanx-I really, truly love them.

Many of you may recall my lament about cellulite? No, well catch up here and come back. Obviously, cellulite and I have been battling for quite some time. So for years, I wouldn’t wear light-colored pants. There is nothing cute about khaki pants with the texture of a colander. I first learned about Spanx when I was a manager at Ann Taylor and I had several ladies that wore them under everything. This was when your only option was the old school panty-hose legged calf-length version. Of these, I am not a fan. The legs always run.

Perhaps you recall this, in which I discuss my Spanx evolution. No? Good lord. It’s only one of my most popular blogs ever. Go read it now and come back. No really. I’ll wait.

Anyhoo, I finally settled on the boob high, crotchless option which may be my favorite thing ever. Despite the mishap(s) mentioned in the above blogs.

I have been dying to try the Bra-llelujah, but am a trifle worried they may not be able to, errr contain?, my bosoms. And I’m not sure how I feel about straps that aren’t adjustable. And then I saw that they now have swimwear, which I’m less excited about. As you may know-when Spanx squeezes your fat around-it has to go SOMEWHERE. With clothing, you have something to hide it. A swimsuit? Not so much. I guess the fat squeezing could form an inner tube-in case you’re prone to drowning?

Anyways, imagine my complete and utter delight when I discovered that, wait for it, Spanx makes clothes! I happened upon this completely accidentally, a stroke of serendipity if you will. I had made a trip to Steinmart to pick up shoe supplies-heel liners, ball of foot cushions, and some more gal pal sponges-another of my most favorite items ever. I pick these  items up at Steinmart because they always have them WAY on sale, just a little tip from me to you. Don’t say I never shared anything worthwhile with you.

While I was there, I checked out their Spanx area to see if they had anything new, and then like a ray of light sent down by God himself-I saw it-a display area full of  Spanx Bod-A-Bing! The heavens opened wide, angels sang, and children weren’t even annoying me. It was truly a almost Spring Break miracle. I had NO idea these pieces of wonderment even existed. Where have I been? They had long pants, cropped pants, and a pencil-ish skirt all in a black, jersey-like material (a fabric which I truly, deeply adore). And shining above them, a glowing beacon beckoning me home? A sign proclaiming they were all 30% off.

The pants are originally $72 and the skirt $68-the Mart had them all marked at $34.99 and, of course, the 30% off. My mouth hit the floor and I swear I got light-headed. Oh the possibilities. Black, slimming, and a travel easy fabric. Why, yes please.

My only issue? They were packaged in boxes, so you couldn’t really try them on AND the stupid size chart was in inches. Really? Does ANYONE know their hip or waist measurement in inches? I sure don’t and honestly, why the hell would I want to? I don’t need that sort of trauma. So I guessed at a Large, loaded up one of each, and carted those babies on home. I almost couldn’t stand the suspense, but when I tried them on-perfection. I don’t know how Ms. Blakely did it-she is a genius that one-but the slimming liner manages to be fitted and suck stuff in without being painful and the layer of black fabric lays beautifully. I had to wiggle a little bit to get it right but once I did-they looked AH-MAZ-ING and they stayed that way. I’m short, 5’2″, and even the long pant seems like it will be on okay length with heels on. Woo-hoo! No, seriously. WOO-HOO!!! I’m considering going back and buying extra.

As I emailed to 2 of my friends: shut the front door, hold the phone, drop whatever you are doing and get your booty to SteinMart. Now. Really. You’ll be SO glad you did.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 8:39 PM

    Spanx makes clothes? Really? I wish I had a Steinmart near here, because I’d definitely be getting some…as long as the pants aren’t crotchless. They aren’t are they?

  2. amyblam permalink*
    March 9, 2010 11:07 PM

    Ha! No, the pants are not crotchless. 🙂 I was amazed when I found them, especially since they are still full price on the Spanx site!

  3. March 11, 2010 12:23 PM

    Amy, what an informative blog. I had no clue about the gal-pal sponges. As soon as I pop this baby out I will be purchasing me a few more Spanx.
    Really, you should work for Spanx. Be their promoter.

  4. amyblam permalink*
    March 11, 2010 2:55 PM

    Thanks Jamie!
    In a pinch, you can rub the underside of fabric against the part with deoderant on it, but it doesn’t get it out completely.
    I know, right? They should pay me. I would totally let them pay me in product. 🙂

  5. TRS permalink
    March 12, 2010 1:05 PM

    NOOOooo! I came to check out your site, then spent an hour reading about Spanx and following links, and now I want one of the swimsuits, and…oh dear!

  6. Jean FIsher Brinkley permalink
    March 25, 2010 2:54 PM

    Thanks so much for this post! I’ve been hunting madly online for the Bod-A-Bing pencil skirt in medium with no luck. Never occurred to me to try someplace like SteinMart. I saw your post yesterday, went to the SteinMart less than three miles from my house today and was so, so pleased to see the much-desired skirt. I even had a 20 percent off coupon so it came in at about $20. Love it! May even go back for a second one!!

  7. amyblam permalink*
    March 25, 2010 7:58 PM

    I’m glad you found one! I love it and the crop pant-went back to get another one and my Steinmart was cleaned out!

Leave a Reply

