Skip to content

Never one to miss a party…

April 9, 2010

Ummm, I just learned I am not smart enough to post an html button in my blog-figures. So it’s in my side bar and THIS blog is about The Ultimate Mom Blog Party 2010.

I came across this on twitter today and was all, “ooooh, party!”

So I went to the site added my link, got distracted by something sparkly, and forgot to read the bit about adding a party post. Lots of things in my life go that way.

But here I am and welcome to my page!

The name Amy’s Blam came about because B stands for Beth my middle name, the L is for my maiden name, the A for my first married name, and the M for my current, and I’m positive, last married name. To me, it’s kindof like all the stages in my life that have come together to make me who I am today.

And the General Foolishness? Well, that’s what it is. People have always said that if something funny, odd, impossible is going to happen that it happens to me. For years, friends were convinced I should have my own tv show, since that never materialised I settled for a blog.

Feedback I’ve gotten says that I’m hilarious and people read me when they want to laugh. Personally? I think that’s the best compliment EVAH.

So grab a drink, stop by, invite your friends, heck-invite ME to your blog. You can share in the comment doohickey section.

I just ask that you refrain from reading my blog while dancing on a cooler and drinking beer out of a bottle. I did that at a frat party in college, minus the reading bit, and have a little chip in my front tooth to show for it. I would hate for my blog to chip anyone’s tooth.

Want more info? You can read more About Me and Contact Me. Believe me, I’m huge fans of both.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 12:06 PM

    I’m fairly certain that I should have my own TV show. Or at least that my blog should be turned into a book should be turned into a movie starring Isla Fisher and Meryl Streep. Also? No comment about the scars I have from an alcohol related dancing accident. I mean, they’re mainly psychological but that might be worse than a chipped tooth. I don’t know. I’ve never chipped a tooth.

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 10, 2010 8:07 AM

      I think I would want Zoe D to play me in a movie. I also have a large scar on one knee from an attempt to throw me in a pool gone awry at one of those days long frat party luau type things. You know, where they dig a pool in the backyard just for the weekend?

  2. April 9, 2010 3:03 PM

    Oh my, you have a permanent reminder of that crazy college nite now huh?

    Have fun at UBP!
    Jenni
    Cash Prize Contest for MissTutu.com
    and my UBP blog: How to Make a Tutu – hope you’ll stop by and visit! 🙂

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 10, 2010 8:06 AM

      Sadly, it wasn’t so crazy-just a normal Thursday night…or Tuesday…or Saturday. 😉
      I will for sure stop by, heading that way now. Well, after I go whine to get my hubs to get me a sausage, egg and cheese biscuit from McD’s with a REAL coke.

  3. April 9, 2010 7:17 PM

    I never danced on a cooler!

    Now a good coffee table? That was a forum! A really sturdy one like in the rental apartments could hold three dancing girls easily. At, eh-hem, college dancing weight. (No comment on what kind of furniture would be required to support my hefty, middle-aged dancing self now.)

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 10, 2010 8:04 AM

      Oh good lord, that’s true. I weighed 102 lbs in college, I wonder if I could still dance on a cooler. I may have to test this out-and possiblt video and put it on the blog.

  4. April 9, 2010 7:34 PM

    We are long lost twins with identical beer bottle chipped teeth!

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 10, 2010 8:04 AM

      How did you chip yours?

  5. April 9, 2010 9:34 PM

    Don’t worry — I try to avoid ANYTHING that results in chipped teeth! 😉

    Cute blog — so glad you joined in.

    My UBP Post: It’s Party Time!

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 10, 2010 8:05 AM

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Tamara B. permalink
    April 10, 2010 5:41 PM

    Cruising through from the UBP to say hi 🙂

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 12, 2010 3:09 PM

      Thanks for stopping by!

  7. April 10, 2010 7:58 PM

    thanks for stoppin’ by my blog. I love your wit. If I can figure out where to follow you (not in the Gov. of CA cheesy way) I will 🙂

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 12, 2010 3:11 PM

      I no smart with technology. Actually, I’m just smart enough to break stuff and then whine until my hubs fixes it immediately.
      I can work a google reader so I go that route.

  8. April 11, 2010 1:53 AM

    Hi/ I’m stopping by for the party. Great blog, loved reading your posts. Look forward to getting to know you well.

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 12, 2010 3:16 PM

      Thanks! I’m heading to yours.
      Hope you’ll be back!

  9. jskell911 permalink
    April 11, 2010 8:04 AM

    Stopping by from the party! Love the previous post. My 13 yr old son would have probably made me get out of the car to show his friend that I was indded an idiot! LOL

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 12, 2010 3:26 PM

      I was very upset that my child was just whatever. Must come up with new ones to embarrass!
      Thanks for coming by!

  10. April 11, 2010 9:39 AM

    I love how you came up with Blam. Very creative 😉

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 12, 2010 3:32 PM

      Thanks for stopping by! My hubs kindof came up with it-I wanted an email with ALL my names spelled out and since that would have been the longest email ever he refused and we shortened it!

  11. April 11, 2010 9:49 AM

    So nice to meet you! Love your blog. You are so witty and funny! And, I promise I am not dancing on a cooler while I write this!

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 12, 2010 3:36 PM

      I’m glad you’re not! I would hate to have to start grounding people…or hire a bouncer to keep things “safe”.
      Loved your blog, added you to my google reader and blog roll!

  12. April 11, 2010 1:51 PM

    Just stopping by from the UBP at Five Minutes for Mom. I love your site and am subscribing to your RSS feed. I would appreciate it if you visited my blog and did the same! I’m looking forward to reading more and getting to know you better.

    Cascia
    The Healthy Moms
    http://www.thehealthymoms.net/2010/04/welcome-to-healthy-moms-blog-party.html

  13. April 12, 2010 10:30 AM

    I just joined you at the party. I am not dancing on a cooler, but rather drinking vodka out of a watermelon. Party on!

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 12, 2010 3:40 PM

      If you’ve got watermelons full of vodka, I am totally crashing your party!

  14. alabastercow permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:59 PM

    *steps off cooler and puts down beer* ahem. i officially have you on my blog roll now and let me know if you have a button. you are awesome. *picks up beer and steps back on cooler.*

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 13, 2010 11:43 AM

      I do not have a button-I am not gifted enough at the technology to know how to make one. Sadness.

Leave a Reply

