Skip to content

The Shoe Diaries-April

April 12, 2010

My mother has been helpfully reminding me that I am overdue on my shoe of the month post.

Mainly, because how the hell is it the twelfth of the month already? Where are the days going?

So, drum roll-well actually the sound of me hacking up my lungs due to pollen taking over the world would be more accurate, not quite as festive-but here goes.

This month’s shoes are the above lovely Tory Burch thongs I purchased while the hubs and I were up in MD during the snowpocalypse, not to be confused with the current pollenocalypse.  Seriously. When I purchased these, there were piles of snow taller than me everywhere I looked. So I did what any sensible Southern girl in a blizzard would do and bought some fabulous Summer sandals.

The Jersey girl who helped me at Nordstrom was old, homely, and unbearably snooty asking, “Is Tory Burch even available in Alabama?” To which I cheerfully quipped, “If she was, I wouldn’t be here dealing with you.” (Once again, we don’t even have a freaking Macy’s in my town. Sadness. And still bitter.)

The first day I wore these, the hubs told me they were a bad idea and I was going to fall down. I turned on my heel and glided off with a hurrumph. And then, the very second I was out of his sight, I fell down the front stairs. And yes, I heard him giggling from the other room.

And the second time I wore them? (Yes, I wore them again even after falling down the stairs. If I gave up every pair of shoes just because I fell up or down stairs in them-I’d have none.)

Anyhoo, the SECOND time I wore them, the hubs and I had the following chat:

Me: “Look! I am WAY tall in these shoes. I must be like 5’5″ right now.” (For those of you late to the party, I have long been convinced that I am not curvy, I am vertically challenged and if I were stretched out, not unlike Gumby, I would be perfection. Hopefully not green though.)

Hubs: “Umm, yeah. You should be tall, you’re wearing stripper shoes.”

Me: “Dude! SERIOUSLY! These aren’t stripper shoes. These are rather pricey Tory Burch thong wedge sandals.”

Hubs: “What? Do you think stripper shoes are cheap?”

Me: “ARRRRGGGHHHHaaaaarrrrrgggghhhhh.” (That’s the sound of me screaming as I run away. And subsequently fall down. Note: I can’t run in wedge thongs-no matter how cute they are.)

So there you have it. The shoe for April.

Got a new fave pair?

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 6:47 AM

    Men don’t understand shoes. Period. Also – I wore my basic grosgrain ribbon J. Crew flip flops last week for the first time in a hundred years and I may have had a small orgasm because really – flip flops.

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 15, 2010 2:53 PM

      Today I am wearing flip flops made out of yoga mats which are oddly comfortable. My hubs doesn’t care how many shoes I have. He just always says he won’t carry me if they’re uncomfortable. Asshat.

  2. LilLew permalink
    April 13, 2010 7:14 AM

    I am sporting my newest favorite shoes today, a pair of Stuart Weitzman white leather heels with tan patent leather toes and heels, and a bow on the toe, all with gold accents.
    I bought them with no action plan of an outfit to wear them with, so I have now built two new outfits around them.
    I love them!!

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 15, 2010 2:53 PM

      Those sound super cute. I frequently buy jewelry, shoes, sunglasses that I then have to build an outfit around.

  3. jerseygirl89 permalink
    April 13, 2010 7:33 AM

    I LOVE those. Right now our budget is running towards me going barefoot, but fortunately I purchased flip flops last summer – Clark’s, cute and comfy – so I’ve been wearing them. Sure, it’s 60 degrees . . but last week it was 80 for a day. I think that’s justified.

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 15, 2010 2:54 PM

      One day of 80 degrees? Totally means it’s okay to wear flip flops from now on.

  4. April 13, 2010 11:11 AM

    I am so happy I love shoes because this year I won’t be able to buy any – thank goodness I have lots already to help me out!

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 15, 2010 2:54 PM

      I often feel like I’m stocking up in case of a dry spell.

  5. April 13, 2010 2:17 PM

    Love it! I am wearing my Tory Burch flip flops as I write this!

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 15, 2010 2:55 PM

      They didn’t have the flip flops in the pattern I wanted in my size so I am slightly jealous.

Leave a Reply

