Skip to content

Wonderful, wonderful Camp McDowell

April 18, 2010

Ya’ll may have noticed that I was quite absent from the internets for a change. That pretty much never happens. Some of you may have been tickled to death for the “break” and maybe a few of you missed me. (Maybe? Please? Un petite peu?)

Anyhoo, bratchild and I went to Camp McDowell, despite the fact that it is out of doors which usually negates me liking something, this is actually one of my most favoriteist places in the whole entire ginormous world. I love it so very much that I actually luuuurrrrvvvveee it and have been known to shed a tear (or a gallon) upon departure.

Tomorrow or the next day, I will post a blog featuring the hilarious endeavors of myself and bratchild. We hiked and did a climbing wall. I wore a harness AND a helmet. No one died or was unfortunately injured or permanently scarred. There are even pictures of me in the harness/helmet contraption since my clever child has learned to work a camera and take pictures on the sly. (She has not learned about flattering angles however so I may shortly be attempting to saw off about half of my upper arms utilizing the super sharp knife set my parents got J for Christmas-on the condition I not be allowed to use them. So I may have to wait until he goes out of town.)

Despite being completely exhausted and awfully sore, I am still feeling all shiny, happy and sweet-which almost never happens. So I will leave you with this:

During church this morning, in the chapel I adore, the session director gave a lovely and not boring sermon. She briefly mentioned yoga and kindof lost me but then she talked about the word namaste and how she explains what it means to children. Essentially, she says, it means that the best in me sees the best on you.

So, on this Sunday surrounded by glorious weather I’ll leave you with this: Namaste ya’ll.

(And don’t fret, when I regain at least a partial range of motion-hopefully tomorrow or Tuesday, I will regale ya’ll with our (mis)adventures.)

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 5:27 PM

    Does Namaste also having something to do with spending an afternoon with friends in the sun drinking margaritas and eating your weight in chips and salsa? I am pretty sure it does. Also? When you’re wearing a harness – there is no such thing as a flattering angle. Unless you’re Kate Moss.

    • amyblam permalink*
      April 21, 2010 7:23 PM

      No, but it totally should involve margaritas.

  2. April 18, 2010 5:38 PM

    oops. I left you an award on my blog today 🙂

    http://fiveamazingminutes.blogspot.com/2010/04/can-i-call-myself-trophy-wife-now.html

  3. April 19, 2010 7:18 PM

    God lives there. I’m quite sure of it.

    I think the girls and I are going to go to the Ankle Biter camp at the END of the summer — it’s for rising 1-2-3 grades. Even though it’ll be blazing hot, it’ll be better for our schedule. Now I just need to write to Michael and see if he’ll switch our registrations. He probably will — he’s such a nice guy. 🙂

  4. amyblam permalink*
    April 21, 2010 7:24 PM

    I’m thinking of sending J and bratchild to that one.

  5. April 22, 2010 8:39 AM

    Sounds like a really interesting and fun adventure!

Leave a Reply

