Skip to content

A, not so, exciting announcement

May 1, 2010

So I’ve read all kinds of things that say you should make your blog a Facebook fan page. Most recently I came across THIS from Scary Mommy, who in addition to being funny has lots of helpful tips. (Unlike me who is just funny and offers nothing constructive. It’s cool. I’ve accepted my limitations.)

And honestly? I LOVE The Blogging. I have come across some really fantastic people and laughed so hard that everything from ginger ale to sort of chewed up steak has been propelled from my nose. That’s pretty.

I will LOVE you more than 20 tons of sparkles, and possibly more than my shoes, if you go HERE and “like” me. Apparently since Facebook has to change things every 0.5 seconds, it is no longer a fan page-you must like me. I sort of actually think this is not so accurate as you could in all truthfulness be a fan of my page but not like ME. Plus, I like the idea of having fans. (I know I have at least one, he is currently incarcerated and sent me jail mail to work yesterday. He even included a little plastic and woven prison craft that spelled out my name and had a tassel. And the little man offered to teach me Spanish.)

While I do not expect you to be in prison, or mail me things, I would appreciate the liking on the Facebook.

(Also? If anyone knows how to make my Facebook like page a badge/link doohickey that I can put in my sidebar, will you please share? And I would prefer it in a “for dummies” version.)

You guys rock.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 7:43 PM

    I just noticed the “like this” feature- it isn’t the same as fans? Because I have fans, and then I have people who “like me.” Ugh, Facebook…seriously! LOL.
    If you need help sorting and arranging your photos, let me know! I can blog a little tutorial about any specific project you have in mind:)

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 3, 2010 7:40 PM

      I think they’ve changed stuff again. I will for sure be checking your blog for tips!

  2. May 2, 2010 7:37 AM

    Okay, you are hilarious! Seriously, I love the way you write. I am visiting from Southern Mamas and hope you are having a great weekend. I need a facebook fan page too just haven’t gotten around to it. maybe one day. Anyway, come visit if you get a chance. I have great recipes and I am doing an awesome giveaway tomorrow! http://kitchenbelleicious.blogspot.com. Oh and P.S. I am “fanning” you on facebook 🙂

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 3, 2010 7:40 PM

      Thank you! Going to check out your site now.

  3. May 2, 2010 8:20 AM

    Ok, now I am confused and have to log into FB. What’s this like business on your fanpage all about? I am certain to lose some fans if they are now forced to like me.

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 3, 2010 7:41 PM

      That was my thinking, people might be a fan of my blog but legitimately hate me.

  4. May 2, 2010 3:42 PM

    We like you! We really, really like you! (Well, I do anyway.) Glad you put the linky-link up. I would have been forever using FB to find you.

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 3, 2010 7:41 PM

      Thank you!

  5. May 3, 2010 11:03 AM

    I wish Facebook would just make up its mind! Being a fan of a page just makes much more sense to me!

    I’ve thought about making a Facebook page for my blog, but haven’t make that leap yet!

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 3, 2010 7:42 PM

      I think it does too but I think FB only thinks things make sense if they change it every 5 minutes.

  6. May 3, 2010 7:08 PM

    Of course I like you. I like you in a very Sally Fields kind of way. I have just been off line and/or having the shit kicked out of me so it’s taken me this long to show you. Now – can we be real face book friends and swap tips on the perfect lip gloss and sparkly eyeliner?

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 3, 2010 7:42 PM

      Of course! I am SO looking forward to blogher!

  7. May 4, 2010 1:38 PM

    I do not have a facebook page…one more thing to manage. I hate this like stuff..sounds like elementary school..Fan was way better! I’ll go visit your page. Since I do not do this, I have no clue how to add it to your sidebar..sorry!

    Tag a long Tuesday…go here for explanation…it is where you link up as well.

    http://tweepoppets.blogspot.com/2010/05/tuesday-tag-along-5310.html

Leave a Reply

