Skip to content

Fillin’ in the blanks about books

May 7, 2010

Stole this from Krysten over at After I Do as part of a Fill in the Blank Friday thing. I have some posts that are oozing excellence (ie full of the funny and stupidness) brewing but they involve pics and stuff so that takes me forever. So enjoy the below until I become un-lazyfied. Hopefully, this weekend.

Just so you know, I won’t be able to pick one thing for an answer-I love too many things to narrow it down.

1. My favorite book growing up was probably the entire Trixie Belden mystery series. They’re the reason I wanted to be both an author and a detective. The shiny of the detective thing kind of wore off when I realized it wasn’t all black clothing, glamorous sunglasses and cute guns. Seriously though? I am awesome at finding out stuff.

2. The funniest book I’ve ever read was probably the first two Chelsea Handler books-I thought the newest one sucked slightly.
 
3. The one book that has truly changed my life is, all of them? I am enamored with books, always have been and I think you take a little from each of them. But if I HAD to pick one I would say either To Kill a Mockingbird or Bitter is the New Black. Mockingbird because I was very young and just loved the story and the writing. Bitter because it made me realize that people *might* want to read funny crap that happened to me.
 
4. If you’re looking for a real “tear jerker” you should probably read Things I Want My Daughters to Know by Elizabeth Noble. I was in hysterics the entire book.
5. If I could meet any author living or dead I would want to meet Kris Radish, Heather McDonald or Chelsea Handler. See? I can’t pick just one when it comes to books. Jen Lancaster was on the list but now I’ve met her twice.
 
6. The next book on my “to read” list is whatever book I pull out of the ginormous stack of unread books. (Because I ALWAYS have a huge pile. I can’t say no to books-it’s like I’m worried if I don’t buy it right that second I may never see it again.)
 
7. If I was snowed into a remote cabin in the woods and could only choose three books to bring with me I’d bring American Gods, The Chronicles of Narnia (this isn’t cheating as you can get them in one volume), and Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man.
 
Personally, if I had my druthers, I’d rather be stranded on an island instead of a cabin in the woods. That’s like my own personal fourth circle of hell.
 
What books would you want if you were stranded somewhere?
© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 3:11 PM

    I do love To Kill a Mockingbird! I have never read the other books…my favorite books are The Glass Castle, Time and Again, and The Falcon and the Snowman. I would love a subscription to a magazine if I was stranded on an island.

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 9, 2010 8:39 PM

      I haven’t read those-will have to check them out.

  2. May 7, 2010 5:30 PM

    Okay, let’s talk about books first. Because I adore, cannot live without, froth over books.

    Right now, my most favorite book is “The Year Of Magical Thinking” by Joan Didion. It is one of the most amazing books filled with a raw grief and strength and just so unbelievable. Joan wrote it right after her husband died suddenly and her daughter had lapsed into a coma after a rare illness. the daughter eventually died after the book was written. I know, such a bright, sparkly tale, right?

    And speaking of bright and sparkly, anything by David Sedaris is the bomb. That man, I just so want to have cocktails with him. Also, Augusten Burroughs, although his last book sucked.

    I just finished reading “The Help” about black women in the 1960’s who were the domestic help for all the white folks in the South. Great Read.

    And now, I sent you a reply after you commented on my blog and then after I sent it, I saw you have your no reply comment on, so my comment vanished into the black hole of the internet.

    So, here’s my reply back to your lovely comment. I just wanted you to know how much I loved it.

    Amyblam,

    The first time I read you I knew you were my kind of girl. A ballgown and a purse, indeed! Those are some faboosh gifts your loving family gave you. I’ll send prayers and blessings your husband’s way.

    Thanks for coming by.

    Joann

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 7, 2010 6:11 PM

      Okay-I don’t know why I have a no reply thing, how do I turn that off?
      And thanks!

  3. May 8, 2010 8:20 AM

    Oh I LOVE To Kill A Mockingbird. It’s one of the few times I actually read a book that was required reading in school (I HATE required reading – I don’t care how good the book is, if it’s required I have a hard time reading it).

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 9, 2010 8:41 PM

      Half of my major was English so I had LOTS of required and some of it I still loathe. Although I am really annoyed with all this Pride and Prejudice and Zombies crap. I’d be pissed if I were Jane Austen.
      Thanks for the post idea!

  4. May 8, 2010 6:13 PM

    Books I read over and over again include The Sixteen Pleasures, The Faux Gourmet, and an Italian Affair. Harry Potter could keep me occupied forever. And I am horrified that I don’t know who Trixie Belden is but I grew up on Nancy Drew. Am I revealing my aging age? Oh – And I refuse to read Eat Pray Love in some sort of pop culture protest but Drink Play F#ck by Andrew Gottlieb had me rolling in stitches. Also – loved To Kill a Mockingbird in book form but loved the movie even more because HELLO Gregory Peck! Hot and noble. YUM-MY!

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 9, 2010 8:42 PM

      I won’t read it either-just like I refused to read The Shack. I feel like they tried to mislead people into reading a Christian book.

  5. May 9, 2010 3:19 PM

    Haha! Why they chose to hypothetically leave you stranded in the woods instead of an island, I don’t understand either! I’ll have to check out the Chelsea Handler books.

    Stopping by to welcome you to SITS!

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 9, 2010 8:42 PM

      Thanks for the welcome!
      Seriously! It would be tough for me to get stranded in the woods as I do my very best not to go there.

  6. May 9, 2010 5:17 PM

    I can’t pick when it comes to books. I love so many of them! Ones that make me laugh, or make me cry, or make me think.

    Stopping by to welcome you to SITS. I hope that you have been enjoying it!

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 9, 2010 8:43 PM

      Thank you! I have and have been learning LOTS.

  7. May 9, 2010 8:51 PM

    I’ve read To Kill a Mockingbird, I even taught it to a freshman English class about 10 years ago, but I cannot for the life of me remember anything about it! I need to read it again!

    I came by to welcome you to SITS! We’re happy to have you with us!

  8. May 10, 2010 11:04 AM

    The Gold Coast by Nelson DeMille. I try to make everyone read this book. I’m sure you have already read The Great Gatsby if you were an English major – but one really has to have read Gatsby first, as this book references numerous times.

    Like your blog!

  9. May 12, 2010 11:30 AM

    I loved Trixie Belden, even better than Nancy Drew. And I thought Di and Honey were awesome too. Still have the entire set. Might just have to re-read it, now you’ve reminding me of their overall fantastic-ness!

    Just found your blog via After I Do. I was checking to see if my Where I Live Wednesday was up. Maybe I’ll be next week!

Leave a Reply

