Skip to content

A carnival of sorts-minus clowns dear lord puh-lease

May 15, 2010

 

I came across this over at Velveteen Mind today while I was “cleaning” (making bratchild dust while I dried from tanning lotion so that I could vacuum.) And I think I LOVE a good story more than say anybody. Even when it’s not about me-I know ya’ll are shocked but it’s true-I find people fascinating.

It’s why airports are actually one of my favorite places, despite the insanity and the idiots that can’t figure out they are about to be run over by a handicap golf cart thing DESPITE people yelling thru a megaphone-like apparatus to, “get the hell out of the way.”

Every single person there has a story, all these lives are interconnected at this one location. Some people are going to get married, some to a funeral, some for their umpteenth business trip. Or maybe it’s a job interview, meeting a new grand baby, visiting a college roommate, going to Mexico to drink Tequila. Everyone is going somewhere and I find it absolutely amazing, and somewhat magical in a way. (What I don’t find magical? The TSA and their intense hatred for me. It’s like they seek me out and I’m still pissed about the pony hair thong sandals they ruined.)

So I’m hoping this carnival is like an airport on the web-minus clowns. (I hate clowns. And shower curtains. And slugs.) Everyone on their own journey, everyone with their own story and, somehow, we’re all just a little bit connected.

Go check it out. Visit here.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 12:42 PM

    Great post! I love to people watch at airports too…it’s interesting. Following from the Lady Bloggers tea party! ❤

  2. May 15, 2010 12:58 PM

    Have you seen the movie, “Love Actually?” If you have not, run, don’t walk to your local video store or just freakin’ order it on your tv and watch that movie. It is just the best, simply the best. But, one of my favorite things about the movie is how it begins and ends with scenes from an airport showing various people, real people not actors. reuniting as what’s that cute guy’s name? Oh, right, Hugh Grant narrates, talking about, If you look for it, love actually, is all around us. Oh, goose pimples good!

    And we must have the same look, because the TSA thinks this little blonde, pixie cut girl is public enemy number one. I get pulled out of line every time and I’ve had every special screening known to man. My husband always likes to say to the kids, “Watch this. Mommy’s going to get pulled out of line.” And I always do. What is with that?

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 18, 2010 7:28 PM

      I LOVE Love Actually.
      Yes, the TSA is not my friend. I once had a female security person undo my pants in the middle of the airport and shove the handheld metal detector down them. I’ve had dates with far less action.

  3. May 15, 2010 5:24 PM

    I am a people watcher too. I always wonder what their story is, where they are going, and when some crazy fool driver seems in a hurry, I always wonder what is waiting for them at the end of their journey.

  4. May 16, 2010 2:27 PM

    I can’t even begin to tell you about the level of stupidity I witnessed on the bus from the parking deck to the terminal on Friday morning. Seriously: I wondered how these grown women had managed to purchase plane tickets because Jee-Zus everything was overwhelming and complex to them. My point is: stupidity is rampant. Which maybe has nothing to do with this post but I totally blame you for mentioning the airport. Also? Clowns scare the pants off me. Assuming I am actually wearing pants. Which, I don’t always wear pants.

    • amyblam permalink*
      May 18, 2010 7:30 PM

      I have been flying by myself since I was 11 and have NEVER missed a plane or gottten on the wrong one. What is up with people?
      When we were in CA for spring break, we had to take a bus from the rental car place to the terminal. This couple got on with an open bottle of wine and 2 styrofoam cups-at 10 am. AND they were drinking out of them.

  5. May 19, 2010 3:03 PM

    I think airports are pretty amazing…technically and for the stories of those who pass through. I used to live right next door (practically) to LAX and loved it…I love watching lanes fly as well.

Leave a Reply

