Skip to content

Friday Flip-Offs 6/4

June 4, 2010

If it weren’t for Kludgy Mom and her Friday Flip-Offs I probably wouldn’t know what day it was. Hazard of summer.

So here goes:

1. BP-I think this one goes pretty much without explanation. My hubs, who is from Bay St. Louis, MS, did not make a funny and said that if shrimp were already covered in oil-they would be that much easier to fry. Or totally explosive.

2. The weather-Does Mother Nature NOT know how intent I am on working on my tan? I mean, giving up the tanning bed because it fries your inside and can kill you and stuff was REALLY hard. And my cellulite is so MUCH happier when it’s tan. After a weekend full of all possible pork products and some beer I do not have the wherewithal to get set up and then move when it starts to rain and then start that cycle of violence all over again. Make up your mind.

3. Scientists-I am now thoroughly confused and more annoyed then usual. So first we are warned about tanning, then how sunscreen must have UVA/UVB protection or we’ll like burst into flames upon first contact with a single ray of sun. Fine, got it. But we are also told how Vitamin D-which comes from the old sun-is vital to health and mood and all that crap. AND THEN? They recently discovered that the sunscreen blocks absorption of vitamin d but we still need it but our skin will curl up and die but we need that exposure-ARGH! Anyone else’s head hurt?

4. Myself-For foolishly forgetting to put on sunscreen on the one day that it was sunny the whole time because I was sucked into the new book by Allison Winn Scotch. Yes, her book was so good it made me forget all about how tanning/burning is your skin’s way of giving up and jumping off a building. (But I am planning a giveaway of a signed hard-cover copy and I won’t make ya’ll like send smoke signals, send in blood samples, tweet every 30.5 seconds to enter. Mainly because I’m lazy.)

5. Jordan Van Der Sloot-You’re an asshole and you deserve so much more than a flip-off. Asking for money to show people where the body is after all these years? Nice.

And yes, all my flip-off catalysts  involve the beach, pool or sun in some way because it’s summer and that’s pretty much all I care about.

Happy weekend to all your sparkly girls. (Yesterday at Walgreens, I love that place, I discovered that Sally Hansen makes AIRBRUSH BODY SPARKLES-okay she may call it Body Shimmer but don’t kid yourself Sally, it’s just airbrush glitter in a can. The Holy Grail of body glitter if you will.)

Flip-offs this week?

(Go check out Gigi at Kludgy Mom-it lists all peeps who are participating in the flipping off. Though I may be the only one who flipped off myself.)

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 9:01 AM

    agree w/ many of your flip-offs!! scientists get on my last nerve too, saying one thing….then coming out later and saying oooppss, i mean the COMPLETE OPPOSITE! and van der dumbass, they should have had him in prison when that man came out with the TAPED CONFESSION he had of him, then this other women would still be here….flip off to dumb police work!

  2. June 4, 2010 11:09 AM

    Seriously. A tan is key if you are looking for the skinnies.

  3. June 4, 2010 11:46 AM

    hahahaha. agree with the weather. flipped it off also on my blog.

    and Jordan Van Der Sloot, he needs to die a slow, ugly, one strip of skin at a time, one pubic hair at a time kind of death. errrrrrrr

  4. June 4, 2010 12:00 PM

    Flippin the weather with ya. It didn’t cooporate entirely on our trip. Great flips. I love the FFOs!

  5. June 4, 2010 3:05 PM

    The BP situation makes me sick. All of the damage to the wildlife and nature makes me want to throttle people.

    And Van der Sloot-disgusting disgusting disgusting. Daddy can’t get you out of this one. You will get yours.

  6. June 4, 2010 3:31 PM

    I am so with you on a tan hiding so many cellulite issues…dang, I can actually stand looking at my fat balls [my term of endearment for the blobs of good on my inner and outer thighs] when I have a little color. Didn’t hear this latest stuff about sunscreen blocking Vitamin D…ugh.

    I’ve got summer on the brain too. It’s sundress time!

  7. June 4, 2010 4:37 PM

    I try not to tan, but my skin soaks up the sun anyway — sunscreen or not. I take Vitamin D by capsule so I don’t have to worry about.

    Also, Joran deserves more than a flip off. Ugh!

  8. June 4, 2010 6:47 PM

    i am extremely happy you have given up the tanning bed. i have never even stepped near one and i never will. mainly because i know i will somehow get trapped a la i still know what you did last summer.

    and that van der sloot guy makes me want to vomit. a lot.

    • amyblam permalink*
      June 8, 2010 12:46 PM

      It took me YEARS to get over the tanning bed fear induced by that movie. Finally, my cellulite’s desire to be tanned won out over my fear of being trapped in one by a homicidal maniac.

  9. June 5, 2010 12:31 AM

    #3 confuses me to no end! I totally missed #5 – he needs to be flipped off and smacked.

  10. June 5, 2010 8:59 AM

    I think we should dunk Jordan Van der Sloot in the gulf, let him soak for 2 days, and then lay him out on the shore somewhere in the sun so he can fry. As for the body sparkle in a can? I am ALL OVER THAT. Actually, it’ll probably be all over me but whatever. SPARKLE!

  11. June 5, 2010 10:48 AM

    Love your flip offs! Gigi rocks!

    My fav of yours is Jordan. Eew! What a monster! Double FLIP OFF!

  12. June 5, 2010 11:25 AM

    I came over because of your comment over at LBS about preferring blogs that aren’t all about the giveaway… me too! Then I come and find your fine flip offs… Awesome! Glad to find a kindred spirit…

  13. June 5, 2010 11:34 AM

    I love your flips apart from number 5 who I have never heard of???!!! So glad you gave up the tanning beds…..they really are bad for you! Thanks for stopping by to say Hi!

    • amyblam permalink*
      June 8, 2010 12:48 PM

      It probably didn’t make news in the UK. About five years ago, a recent high school graduate from my state vanished in Aruba. This guy was arrested off and on for years as a suspect and just recently was arrested on suspicion of killing another young girl.
      If he’s been “caught” for two, makes me wonder if there are any others.

  14. June 5, 2010 1:06 PM

    Good #5. That kid is an idiot and it boggles my mind how he gets away with things.

  15. June 5, 2010 4:24 PM

    Hey I’ve given you an award. Come on over and check it out.
    http://dazeedreams.blogspot.com/

  16. June 5, 2010 6:16 PM

    OH MAN! I completely agree with everything you said! The Vitamin D thing totally confuses me – especially since I’m someone that has never stepped into a tanning bed.. cuz yes, I’m extremely white, and have skin cancer in my genes.. but does that also mean that I have a Vitamin D deficiency?

    Shoot.

    Van der sloot IS an ass. Amen.

    And BP.. yeah.. eff BP.

    PS ~ I found you on the Lady Bloggers Society Tea Party – I like your blog! and I love the Friday Flip Offs. I might have to do this! haha.

  17. June 6, 2010 1:46 PM

    The BP situation makes me so sad. Get it figured out already! Ugh!

  18. June 7, 2010 2:04 PM

    Hi Amy,

    Back from my break!

    I love Allison’s new book. Thank you so much for pointing me to her blog. It’s great.

    And I’m just glad they finally caught the bastard red handed. Ugh.

  19. June 7, 2010 10:49 PM

    I just want to say I love everyone’s FFO’s.

    Gigi is great, isn’t she?

  20. June 27, 2010 12:08 PM

    Great Flips… I should have flipped myself off too… for thinking I could actually keep the exercise regimin going for more then one day in a row! HA!!

    And you got it right on the sun screen issue… I’m wearing a hat and hoping for the best.

Leave a Reply

