Skip to content

Give me an A!

June 27, 2010

Okay…give me an A! And a …what the fark ever, I’m not that perky. When I auditioned (tried out?) for cheerleading my freshman year of high school, I tried out for the soccer-wrestling squad. Why might you ask? About half of their work was inside, they still got to wear cute outfits AND they got to sit down most of the time. My lord that’s shameful…

Anyhoo-I was giving myself a big wahoo because I was a Guest Star over at The Blogger’s Concierge, a genius site. Go check it out. And the rest of their stuff is pretty awesomely fantabulous as well.

But THIS? This is about why I am an A-lister. So it will probably be a short post.

Numero Uno-they have champagne in their picture for the post. And I like bubbles. And champagne. So much that I prefer my mimosas sans orange juice.

Part deux-I really try to work the funny pretty hard. And it works more often than not, according to my finely wrought statistics (Okay, that is a blatant lie. I detest statistics. The ONLY reason I passed that class in college is because a young enginerd guest instructored it and he wanted to go out with me. I didn’t. Dating teachers is wrong. Okay, just your own teachers as I did date my sister’s art teacher.)

Three-I tell the truth. Habitually. See above.

Floor-I think Gigi and Miel et Lait are super smart and funny and anything they are running? Totally want in on that. Word.

Cinco de Mayo-Despite my sometimes (frequently?) flippant attitude-I actually work REALLY hard at the whole blogging thing and am always looking for ways to improve my site, the content and the experience. (I think I just made myself sound like a Disney ride. And yes, there’s totally a height restriction.)

Six Geese a Laying-I really am in awe of the people that read and comment here. I’m a big believer in responding to comments and visiting sites of people who stop by Amy’s Blam. And? I’ve found some of my favorite blogs that way.

Seven deadly sins– I have my finger on the pulse of what is current, trendy and amazing. I watch a lot of Nick and Wizards of Waverly Place just to keep up to date with the hottest and latest stuff. (I couldn’t even type that without laughing. Sadly, I do watch lots of Nick and really enjoy Wizards. Even though I am ALWAYS getting jealous of Selena and her amazing, shiny, thick, full hair. I should have been a teen star.)

Eight is Enough-(I may have just dated myself. 33 is not old. Liz Phair says so.) I NEVER miss deadlines. I may squeak in, ummm this is due tomorrow, but I made it!

So, errr….there you have it. That’s why I’m an A-lister. Go team! Yeah! (Insert mental image of me doing a herky-is that even how you spell that?)

(If this is your first time, welcome-I am SUPER excited you came by. (Even if you’re a repeat visitor? It still makes me happier than 20 tons of glitter when you come here) I write funny. Well, I try to. And people, other than my hubs and imaginary voices tell me that’s why they come here-to laugh. Want to know more? Those links at the top-About Me, Contact Me, 100 Things, People…all have info that about sums it up. Let me know you stopped by and I’ll return the favor-cheers!)

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 8:17 PM

    Since you were mentioned in Gigi and Meil’s new blog I had to check yours out. You think you’re old… when I see eight is enough I think of the TV show from the late 70’s when I was a teenager. I’m 48 and it all happens fast. I swear I was 33 yesterday! Katharine

  2. June 27, 2010 8:17 PM

    That is ridonkulously funny. 🙂

  3. June 27, 2010 11:32 PM

    This post was Fabulous. Funny, and Freaking Awesome! A list for sure. And you are dead on about Gigi and Mis. Thanks so much for stopping by my FFOs. The burn is much better today. Hope your head is better. Have a great week.

    alicia @ a beautiful mess

  4. June 28, 2010 12:25 AM

    Yes, I say A list (I think you kinda knew that, too…and so did Gig.(

    Loved the post….
    And the post title.

  5. June 28, 2010 8:25 AM

    Oh my G you are so A. Dating teachers is a fantasy of mine! If you were on Disney I would watch you, I really would.

  6. June 28, 2010 9:17 AM

    I sneak on my google reader at work, and yours is one of the first I usually read (A is the first letter of the alphabet…) and you never fail to give me a laugh. :o)

  7. June 28, 2010 10:53 AM

    This was funny. I stopped by from TBC where I was so overwhelmed by all the sound advice I just had to come take more punishment. No really it’s because you promised you would come visit me if I commented. :o)

    I have a twitter account but I have no idea what to do with it. And a facebook fan page? Why would they be my fan if they are not my follower? I’m so confuuuuuuuuuuused. I fear I am destined to remain an under-blogger.

  8. June 28, 2010 11:04 AM

    Great guest post! I actually picked up a few tips. 🙂 Going to research that whole Twitter thing… I’ve been avoiding it like the plague.

  9. June 28, 2010 4:02 PM

    What fun! I wish I could do more with my blog right now…

  10. June 28, 2010 4:31 PM

    You are definitely an A lister, Amy, a pink and sparkly A lister. And you know what else you’re an A lister at? Your comments. Your comments on my blog are just freakin’ fabulousishness. I know that’s not a word, but it’s a perfect way to describe your comments.

    Oh, and the Geeg girl is just IT, isn’t she?

  11. June 28, 2010 7:23 PM

    Ummmm . . . so you are not going to blog about the fabulousness that was “Eight is Enough?” I loved that show. I am older than you are, apparently.

    Also? 20 tons of glitter? It would not make you happy.

    Trust me. I am older. I know.

  12. June 28, 2010 8:16 PM

    You’re either an A-Lister or a member of the A-Team. Either way – you kick Ass!! BTW – is it just me or when watching the A-Team do you look at Hannibal and think: Ah….Paul Varjack. I mean Fred Baby. I mean wait: how did Breakfast at Tiffany’s get all mish-moshed with a crack commando unit of ex-Army guys? And why aren’t there any women? Although I think there was a woman. Early on. But then they got rid of her. Oh you probably don’t even watch A-Team which makes this comment all the more nonsensical. Where was I? You’re Awesome. And I love Breakast at Tiffany’s.

  13. June 28, 2010 10:06 PM

    Hi! This is my first time here. I needed funny. Thanks!!!

  14. June 29, 2010 7:44 AM

    Amen to not being perky….I can relate to those who are not shiny, happy people. I’m enjoying your witty comments! Liked the A-lister site. Perhaps I need to start thinking French!….Thanks for your insight to blogging. Learning lots and having so much fun making connections. You are an A-lister!

    Zippy Chix 3
    http://www.zippychix.com

  15. pajamadays permalink
    June 29, 2010 9:23 AM

    You crack me up! (Totally why you are on my blog roll!) And sadly, I too watch Wizard…and Phineas and Ferb…at least I have children watching it with me! Keep up the awesomeness.

    – Emily

    • amyblam permalink*
      June 29, 2010 9:30 AM

      Bratchild usually watches it with me-but I do confess that sometimes even if she’s out doing something it still stays on.

  16. June 29, 2010 10:05 AM

    I love Liz Phair.
    And of course you are an A lister! I love that post over at the Blogger’s Concierge and congrats on your feature!

    Personally, I am thrilled to bits to have found your blog. You crack me up on the regular. 🙂

    • amyblam permalink*
      June 29, 2010 1:55 PM

      Salt-I am so glad to have found yours! You are pretty funny.
      Alicia-my head is now peeling so I look all dandruffy.
      Katharine-that’s the reference I was making, I vaguely remember it.
      Gigi and Alexandra-thank you! Thank you!
      Sadie-if they stick me on Disney I feel sure that means the end of the world is near. It would be funny though.
      Heather-thank you for reading but dear lord, please don’t get fired or written up because of me.
      Miss W-I visited your site today and I love it! I do the fb fan page because different people follow and like updates different ways. Some people subsribe via email, some follow at twitter, some use readers and some keep up thru fb. I think it’s good to give people choices for how they follow the blog.
      Peeved-I go through phases of twitter where I’m on it constantly or when I’m not. I like that with wordpress I have it set so that when I post a blog, it automatically posts that to my twitter stream.
      Duck-I enjoy your site!
      Joann-you are ALWAYS the bomb and you rock.
      Kris-I would be okay with all the glitter but my hubs would not. As we are now, he feels like there is glitter in everything he owns-trucks, guns, armor…
      Rougie-I only have foggy recollections of the original and mainly of Mr. T. Probably because he was shiny.
      Jackie-thanks for coming and I’m glad you got some funny!
      Thanks Chix-I’m about to visit your site!
      PJ Days-you are in my blogroll now also!

      Okay-I need an opinion. I always visit the blogs of people who stop by here and I respond to comments here also when I have something to add BUT I HATE it when my recent commenting widget is all full of me instead of my lovely readers. I saw another blogger respond to all the comments in one comment so I’m trying that. Thoughts?

  17. June 29, 2010 10:18 PM

    I think that you just posted the world’s longest comment. You deserve a Klondike bar.

    • amyblam permalink*
      June 30, 2010 12:18 AM

      Great. Now I want delicious ice cream treats at 12:15 in the morning. 😉 Yeah, it didn’t look so long in the little comment box-I was a little surprised.

  18. Nina J permalink
    July 1, 2010 3:49 AM

    Totally true about Wizards! I watch it just to get ideas on clothes….Glad I’m not the only one 🙂

Leave a Reply

