Skip to content

Friday Flip-Offs 7/2

July 2, 2010

As always, Gigi at Kludy Mom is the mother of this most excellent idea. Have a look-see over there as well.

This week, it seems my grips are all food or bodily functions related…I guess a theme is good?

So I’m flipping off…

Steak Out-for being closed on Sunday. I didn’t get dressed  OR brushed my teeth today and all I wanted was steak and baked potato brought to me. And that delish Naturally Fresh Creamy Italian dressing that can’t be purchased anywhere. I think this is the universe slapping my hand for laziness.

TCBY-for the closest one being in Anniston. And no, I don’t think even my hubs likes me enough to drive there and back just to get me an m&m shiver made with golden vanilla yogurt.

People that order insanely complicated things in the drive thru. This really pissed me off when I went to DQ in quest of a Blizzard, a somewhat okay Shiver replacement. Yummy but different. If you are ordering banana splits and other time-consuming treats for your family of 12? Get your ass inside.

Dairy Queen-I forgot how delish m&m blizzards are and have had 3 this week. That’s not good for my belly-pooch.

And speaking of my belly-f you crohn’s or IBS or whatever it is the docs think I have depending on the way the wind blows. I was doing really well and hadn’t had any long-lasting episodes in months. I was enjoying, sorry for the grossness, NOT using the bathroom 23 times a day. I guess I should be glad you waited to visit until after vacation.

Clifford-for being a sweet, but idiotic dog. Just because I let you out a different door does not mean it’s for a different purpose. Whether it’s the porch door or the side door-you’re still supposed to pee. Get it together. After I have been sleeping for 10-12 hours, I would think you would be so desperate to pee that even you could figure out to get off the porch and find a bush, but no, you sit there. Until I take you BACK in the house and down to the side door. You immediately pee then.

Oh wait, I do have one non-food/urination/upset tummy flip-off this week. My Blackberry. WHY can’t I EVER figure out how to rearrange the icons on the touch screen when I want to but then they magically change order on their own? Do I have gremlins or goblins? Am I just that much of a techidiot?

Stop by some of the other flippers, again not the faux pageant teeth, and share with me in the comments what you are flipping off this week! Happy 4th all!

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 10:43 AM

    I feel the same way about Chick-Fil-A! I wish they were open on Sundays.

  2. July 2, 2010 10:50 AM

    Great, you have a dog with OCD. I guess that’s better than having a husband & child with it.

    re: TCBY: Is the one in Decatur (corner of Central? & the Beltline) closed? Wouldn’t surprise me.

    Here’s to hoping you’re holiday weekend is a little less flippy!

  3. July 2, 2010 10:51 AM

    Flipping off:
    – Continuous douche bags at work. Stop making my life a living hell.
    – my back – after paying hundreds for physical therapy for the past several weeks, why aren’t you getting better!!!
    – my sister – for bringing up issues we resolved 10 years. Stop living in the past and MOVE on with your life. Seriously. (10 second ago update: looks like my yelling at her last night did some good)

    I feel better now. THANKS!!

  4. July 2, 2010 11:24 AM

    oh – the drive thru for somewhere like dunkin? where i just want my GDARN coffee?? And you’re ordering boxes of munchkins and egg sammiches up the wazoo?? JEEZ I NEED COFFEE!!!!
    um. that felt good!

  5. July 2, 2010 11:37 AM

    I’m with commenter Christine. Hate that Chick Fil A is closed Sunday. What is Steak Out? sounds intriguing. Is it like, Sizzler?

    I am anti-Blackberry. My husband has one and it is the most user unfriendly thing I have ever seen. And I am a techie person.Plus, how frail of a human being must you be in order to have fingers small enough to type on those miniscule keys?

    Wow. 3 DQ blizzards. Any chance that’s why you ended up flipping off your stomach? 🙂 I have digestive stuff from time to time and it SUCKS. Getting old generally does.

    Great flips this week. Hope you have a good 4th.

    • amyblam permalink*
      July 2, 2010 11:44 AM

      Steak Out is so much better than Sizzler, which we don’t have her actually. It’s yummy steaks and potatoes and bread and they deliver!

  6. July 2, 2010 1:07 PM

    oh my hell. I am totally with you on the insane orders through drive through. Such a high dose of laziness if you can’t get our of your car.

  7. July 2, 2010 1:18 PM

    I have no idea what a Steak Out is, but based on your brief description alone, I am so wishing there was one anywhere near me.

    Your complicated order at the drive through thing just reminded me how much I hate people that go to the self checkout at the grocery with like 30 pounds of weighable produce and they don’t know how to work the damn thing. *shakes fist*

    • amyblam permalink*
      July 3, 2010 9:55 PM

      I think you should have to pass an IQ test to be allowed to use self-checkout.

  8. July 2, 2010 1:55 PM

    TCBY? Those are still around? I haven’t seen one in ages.

    And now I want a blizzard, steak and potato. Thanks. It’s not even noon here yet.

  9. zippywood permalink
    July 2, 2010 2:03 PM

    Oh, Drive-thru people are my target of the week. Not so much the complicated orders, since I tend to lean a little to the high-maintenance side myself. . . it’s the people who don’t know what they want. I mean, who in this day and age doesn’t know exactly what McDonald’s has on the menu? How complicated is this menu that you have to sit and think about it while all I want is my stinking Filet O’Fish and for you to get out of my stinking way.

    If you don’t know what you want, haul your hiney inside and debate it with the chicka behind the counter.

  10. July 2, 2010 2:34 PM

    Sounds like it’s been an all around bad food service kinda week. Never heard of steak out, but sorry for the frustration. You should totally convert to iphone. haha. I’m an addict. Have a great one.

  11. July 2, 2010 2:55 PM

    I hate people who don’t know what they want at the drive-through window!

    One time I had my two girls in the car and I told them they could order a shake. That’s all we wanted — 3 shakes. But my girls could not decide what flavor they wanted, and they started yelling and whining and crabbing at one another and at me. While people waited behind me.

    So I drove away. No shakes.

    Stupid children.

  12. July 2, 2010 4:39 PM

    Love the flip offs. Hope you have a great weekend!!!

  13. July 2, 2010 5:42 PM

    Yikes about the IBS or Crohns or whatever it is..
    COULD it be related, (as My mom’s is) to stress and stressful events???
    OR could it be the delish Dairy Queen items?

    😉

    I used to have digestive troubles and actually have found that taking an acidophilus every day has eliminated the troubles.(Pun intended..lol!)

    Your dog sounds so hilarious..

  14. July 2, 2010 6:00 PM

    Oh, I hope it isn’t Crohn’s. Crohn’s sounds horrible! Now I am really hungry. Hope I get good service! Have a great weekend.

  15. Jamie Hardiman permalink
    July 2, 2010 7:23 PM

    Have you had your gallbladder checked out???

  16. July 2, 2010 9:34 PM

    IBS? Yikes. My tummy just sommersaulted in sisterhood because…been there. *Relieved* that.

  17. July 3, 2010 2:22 AM

    its nice and interesting.

  18. July 3, 2010 6:24 AM

    beautiful, you are such an amazing writer

  19. July 3, 2010 8:19 AM

    Totally agree about the drive thru…..Makes me crazy when people are so self-absorbed! Have a great July 4th Everyone!!!

    Zippy Chix 3
    http://www.zippychix.com

  20. amyblam permalink*
    July 3, 2010 9:58 PM

    Well, I’ve had awful tummy problems my whole entire life. When I was much younger I was hospitalized because I couldn’t eat anything and then I spent time on a crazy restrictive diet. I got it under control as I got older and then after being pregnant, it all went to hell. They’ve tested everything-celiac disease, scopes down my throat and up my rear. Apparently my symptoms are textbook crohn’s except I don’t have damage like most people with crohn’s do. It does get worse when I get stressed. Ugh. It’s no fun.

  21. July 4, 2010 8:51 AM

    I do my best to stay away from DQ. But a month or so ago, my kid talked me into it. He waited for me to take my first bite, then said, “So, Mom, how long has it been since you’ve eaten a Blizzard?”

    “It’s been prolly 10 years,” I said, now nearly halfway through it. I was inhaling the sucker, not even caring that I could already feel the freezer burn in my head.

    “How does it feel to know it will be a whole ‘nother 10 years before you can say that again?”

    I wanted to pound the little rat. What a setup.

  22. July 4, 2010 12:52 PM

    any restaurant that’s closed at any time pretty much pisses meoff.

    and if you have crohn’s email me some time – my mom’s had it since she was a teenager so i’m pretty schooled in the disease.

  23. July 5, 2010 10:38 AM

    Wow, the only food place I know of is Dairy Queen on your list, and it’s definitely a good thing we don’t have one near me or that all the Dairy Queens pretty much don’t have a drive-in around here. Yesterday pretty much everything was closed so I did the classic it’s-a-holiday-but-I-don’t-give-a-damn drive-by to see what was open and found an oasis inside of an outdoor mall center.

  24. July 6, 2010 10:41 AM

    Hi, Amy! This is me waving to you from vacation in Chicago. I’ll be back full force in blogworld next week, but I had a moment, so I thought I’d wander over.

    I am flipping off this freakin’ heat! I am in Chicago, not my home state of Florida. I’m supposed to be able to wear a sweater in the evenings here in The Windy City. I hate you heat! I get enough of you back home! Other than that, all is good here.

    And blizzards from DQ are like crack. That freakin yummy.

  25. July 6, 2010 11:13 AM

    Your posts always make me laugh. I can definitely relate with the idiotic dog problem. Thanks for writing!

  26. July 19, 2010 12:44 AM

    Great work you have done!

Leave a Reply

