Skip to content

Project Mom wants me (they just don’t know it yet)

July 25, 2010

In my Blogher “research,” I came across the casting info. for a new reality show called Project Mom. It’s about, well, moms who blog. Which sounds simple, but it’s not. This is a VAST community.

So lovely Blammers, pretend you don’t know me for a second. I’m Amy and I blog and I like to make people laugh.

Personally? I don’t consider myself a “mommyblogger.” I’m a mom. And I blog. But rarely do the two meet. I mainly talk about sparkles, shoes and the general hilarity that ensues whenever I try to do, well, anything. I don’t talk about team sports or anything that requires a uniform.

What’s my ultimate goal in life? To have someone to drive me around, blowdry my hair every day and change the sheets on my bed. Apart from J and bratchild being happy, healthy and safe-that’s pretty much what I’m going after. Since nobody has taken me up on my offer to be a “sisterwife” and handle those chores-I am stuck with the task of becoming a famous author and hiring minions. (Don’t you just love the way minions sounds? Just me?)

Anyways-I started blogging because people were always saying I should have my very own reality show. Since that failed to materialize with little to NO effort on my part, I took up blogging.

I’ve spent my life writing stories and now it’s just out there for all to enjoy, errr…cringe. (Sorry mom.)

In my quest to for world domination, I mean to become a published author, I’m now a couple different places. I recently became the fourth “lady” of The Lady Bloggers Society. I also write blogs and co-host the web gossip show, Southern Fried Snark. I ALSO am a columnist for a newspaper. (I know, how do I NOT have a book yet? Or designers clamoring to dress me. Or someone to put away laundry.)

I’m outrageous, outspoken, sarcastic and terribly loyal.

Oh, and the name Amy’s Blam? The B, L, A and M all stand for names; middle, maiden, first married, second-and final-married name. Why? All of those names and all of those experiences are all ME. They all had a hand in who I am today, which can be found right here three times a week, sometimes more.

My story? Someone who didn’t always make the “right” choices and still ended up exactly where she belongs? Someone who’s perfected the art of laughing at herself? A mom/wife/sister/daughter/friend/writer who’s still trying to figure “it” out-and having the most fun in the process? All of the above. Definitely.

I hope to talk more with you in the Big Apple and can’t wait to meet so many fellow bloggers. We ALL have our place in this community. And that’s why I cherish it. And think exploring it on TV? Would be the most fun.

P.S. I’m not naked. My hubs is gigantor and in cropping him out, I cropped out my dress. I don’t do nudity. It’s in my contract.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 8:39 PM

    WOW I love this! Awesome post, Amy makes me feel like I got to know you and your blog better! Great job 😀 PS: Love your picture too.

  2. July 25, 2010 8:58 PM

    I wish you would have done a video because this submission is really one of the best.

  3. July 25, 2010 10:19 PM

    Girl, here is my perfect reality show of bloggers, you, my Gigi girl and Erika from The Girl Next Door. You girls would kick some ass. I’m in your corner. I’ll spread the word and support you in whatever way you need. I don’t tweet though. But whatever else, I’m game. Good luck, darlin’.

  4. July 25, 2010 10:59 PM

    Good luck. Sounds like a ton of fun.

  5. July 26, 2010 8:36 AM

    I hope you get to be on the show! How blamorous would that be?? I also don’t consider myself to be a mommy blogger because I rarely write about my children exclusively. I name drop them here and there (or alias drop them), but…it’s more about things I find humorous. I love reading your blog! You have my vote!

  6. Lori permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:07 AM

    Good luck! I always enjoy your blogs! Funny stuff!

  7. July 26, 2010 9:11 AM

    You’d be awesome!

  8. July 26, 2010 2:30 PM

    Great introduction. The best part of the MomCasting stuff is reading so many introspective and enlightening (in a fun way) posts.

  9. Allison C. permalink
    July 26, 2010 3:53 PM

    You in technicolor. Hmm, I am just not sure I can handle all the funny. 🙂 I would love for you to do a product demo (fully clothed, of course) of spanx and share about the time you discovered the hole. BAHAHAHA.

  10. July 26, 2010 4:07 PM

    You’d be absolutely awesome!! I really wish that I was coming to BlogHer……maybe next year!! Good Luck with Project Mom!! x

  11. July 26, 2010 4:22 PM

    You would be amazing. Even without nudity.

    But don’t all reality shows require nudity, nowadays?

    You should check on that.

  12. July 26, 2010 4:27 PM

    ok, i suck . you win. awesome entry.
    🙂

  13. July 26, 2010 8:30 PM

    Amy,
    I am a producer/writer for a reality show on HGTV. Yes, “starring” in one is fun….but exhausting and time consuming. By the end, you never want to see another camera or producer again. Trust me. LOL.

    Happy blogging!

  14. mairzeebp permalink
    July 27, 2010 9:17 AM

    Laugh out loud funny as always! I fear saying the next thing but am going to have faith that you will try not to reach out and virtually slap me…ready…I’ve never tried Spanx?? Ok, maybe just a small slap is ok 🙂 Thanks once again for the laugh. Gigantor made me spit out my cereal.

  15. July 27, 2010 9:25 AM

    I SO wish I was going to Blogher.
    And you would be perfect for Project Mom. Especially if they need someone to bring some serious funny.

  16. amyblam permalink*
    July 27, 2010 12:58 PM

    You guys are ALL awesome-thank you for the sweet words. My own mother, on my facebook like page, said: ” please please please for the sake of mankind and my insanity, do not do a reality show!”
    Ummm…did she mean her sanity?

  17. July 27, 2010 7:55 PM

    Love. It. They better give you an interview!

  18. July 27, 2010 8:35 PM

    again, I’ll say it, you could be a poser for jen lancaster, and then they’d take you…just sayin.

    seriously, you got it all going on… I say go for it!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Why I DIDN’T make a video for Project Mom: be glad « Amy's Blam
  2. Reality TV may NOT be my friend « Amy's Blam

Leave a Reply

