Skip to content

Things I want to do in NYC during BlogHer

August 3, 2010

First, I’m totally stressed right now. I just watched the most recent episode of Kimora Life in the Fab Lane and their whole fashion show set-up/running late thing made the retired event manager in me twitch. I may  have yelled at people on tv, allegedly.

But now that I’ve recovered from rocking myself in the fetal position it did get me to thinking about things I’d like to do while in NYC for BlogHer. Other than the conference obviously. SO wishing I’d allowed more time than Thursday through Sunday.

I haven’t been to NYC since I was in middle school and somehow ended up in a stripper store near Times Square. There were feathers and sparkles in the window, I was powerless.

Oh well, here’s what I’d like to do/have planned.

1. Lunch at The Four Seasons. Scheduled with Rougie and A is for Aardvark. SO excited. I’m hoping none of us end up peeing in an ice bucket.

2. Meet up with fellow bloggers. Have digits for the above as well as Amber Page Writes and Mommy Wants Vodka. Anyone else want to text to meet up? (I HATE talking on the phone but will happily text you all day long.) Message me your number.

3. Check out the Exhibit Hall. And yes, it’s very stressful to me that there is not an online layout of the exhibit hall and/or an exhibitor list. Before I retired from corporate event management that was a MUST.  (Ummm…yeah I have to plan everything.)

4. See the angel fountain in Central Park.

5. Go to the top of The Empire State Building.

6. NOT go to the Statue of Liberty. Did it. Miserable experience.

7. Have fun at the parties. Whew! Apparently whining works. After my last blog post about blogher, I actually started getting party invites. Well, one had actually been in my spam all along. But anyways, my faith in whining and bribing has been restored. (Well, I never lost my faith in bribery-it’s always worked on me.) So Thursday night I can be found losing my mind trying to get to I Love New York, SocialLuxe, AOL Blogger’s Night Out, OF COURSE the People’s Party and possibly the Shick Kiss and Tell. I declined Martha Stewart’s Bloggers’ Night Out, some Open Sky thing and an invite I got yesterday for a Wax Museum/Lion King party.

Seriously party planners? Why is there hardly anything Friday night? Saturday night I’ll be at SparkleCorn and Cheeseburgher. I’m wait listed for Blogalicious. 😦 I HOPE other people will un-rsvp from parties they know they can’t attend. That’s what I’ve tried to do with the hopes that it will open it up for other people to go.

(And yes, from what I understand, for most of the parties you need your BlogHer badge, your id and your email ticket.)

8. Check out the Saks shoe department without crying and cuddling with the beautiful shoes, also known as not being removed from the store by security.

9. Not yell at slow walkers that meander aimlessly and stop  in the middle of doors, sidewalks, halls, etc. It drives me insane. Quicker than normal.

10. Interview with Project Mom Casting. Yes, they picked me. I found out not FIVE minutes after I posted on Gigi’s blog that I hadn’t been chosen. Regardless of whether they choose me or I elect to participate if chosen, think it will be a cool experience. One of the photographers I work with was all a show about blogging  moms? What will they do? Film you typing?

11. See Wicked on Broadway. Squuuueee! We have tickets. I’ve never seen it and am jazzed. I’m weird about traveling productions. I blame my parents for taking me to see The Phantom of the Opera at its original theatre in London. Ruined me.

12. Avoid getting lost. My hubs told me the other night that he was worried about me and hoped I would stick with other people. THIS is SO HARD for me. I’m not one of those people that has to have a buddy and stick with someone else. If we don’t want to do the same things, I have  no problem with splitting up and doing our own things. After travelling to conventions for 6 years, I am used to taking off on my own and doing whatever I feel like. I can’t deal with the hemming and hawing that occurs when a group of women try to decide what to do.

As far as the getting lost? He MAY have a foundation for worry there. The Paris incident of 1995 is STILL following me around as my mother likes to occasionally remind me that when she dies, it will be FIVE years too early all because I followed something shiny in Paris, got lost and had them convinced I’d been kidnapped by gypsies. My dad was fairly sure they’d return me.

Also? When I was in San Diego, for the first time, I took off without a map and got so turned around that when I ended up calling the hotel concierge they couldn’t even figure out how I got where I was.

And then, this one time, in LA, I took off walking from the Hilton to Olivera Street and ended up in a part of town that resembled a post-apocalyptic wasteland with dust and cars on blocks and NO taxis anywhere. When I chewed out the hotel concierge for telling me I could walk there, he countered with that didn’t mean I should.

And then in Baltimore, okay that deserves it’s own post. It involves militant hari krishnas, hookers, the Nation of Islam and a homeless man wrapped in Saran Wrap who wanted to box me for money.

(I apologize if this post has made any of you NOT want to meet up with me but I suppose I understand.)

Okay…MAYBE he has a reason to be worried. But now, I have a phone with GPS and NYC shouldn’t be super hard to navigate. I plan on walking/using the subway for party transport Thursday night so I should be good.

13. Visit the Herald Square Macy’s

14. Find a ginormousa Sephora

15. Attend the sessions I really care about but focus more on meeting with other bloggers and having fun.

Okay kids, anything else I MUST do either in NYC or BlogHer related?

Also? I keep seeing people on blogs asking how much people are really like how they are online. As for me? I’m pretty much exactly the same, sadly. Except perhaps louder and clumsier. I don’t really have an inside voice, I have playground and arena volume settings. I did have one person tell me they didn’t think I was happy since I’m so sarcastic but no…I’m super happy, easily excited and could talk to a rock. I’m not shy at all but I AM BLIND so if you see me, come on over. If you’re more than 5 feet away, I probably won’t recognize you.

Come on Thursday!

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 7:53 AM

    Does your phone have a NYC Subway app? So useful for navigating the trains!

  2. August 3, 2010 12:45 PM

    Can you please pack me in to your suitcase? I want to go to BlogHer so badly!
    You are about to have the most epic time and I can’t wait to hear all about it when you get back.

  3. August 3, 2010 2:51 PM

    Ok, I haven’t cared about not going, but now I do!!! You’re making it sound so fun.

    But, yo, back up, you got PICKED! Hoo-Hoo-Hootie-Hoo!!!! I am so excited for you! You’ll interview with flying colors first off. It will come back to whether you decide to do this and I want you to choose to do this, whether you want to or not, because I want to live vicariously through your experience.

    And out of all the places I travel in the world, (I get lost everywhere. Seriously, I get lost in the mall. ), I find that New Yorkers are the nicest about helping you find your way.

    Have so much fun. Good luck on the interview. Tell everyone I said hi.

  4. August 3, 2010 2:52 PM

    Waaaaaaaaaa!!! SOOOOO wish I were going to the Blogher events (which is SUCH A DAMN SHAME because I work in Manhattan). Anyhoo, you can actually cross off #13 and #14 at the same time since there’s a Sephora on 34th Street, right across the 34th St exit of the Macy’s (bet 7th and b-way). Have a WONDERFUL time in NY and if you happen to be in that area and have some time to kill, shoot me a line and we could grab a coffee–my office is very close!

    Best wishes and do report back on the experience 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. August 3, 2010 2:55 PM

    I hope you have a ton of fun! I am with you. I hate all the indecisiveness of groups, mainly women but I tend to stick with them because I’m a direction idiot and then I get pissed when they can’t muster up a decision. Yeah, I’m a lost cause. 🙂

  6. Jenny permalink
    August 3, 2010 3:15 PM

    I hope you have a fabulous time Amy! I think you will be wonderful on a show! So excited to find out the outcome of that too 🙂

  7. Pamela *Amy and Melissa's Mother Extraordinaire* permalink
    August 3, 2010 5:19 PM

    Do NOT take the subway. The New York subway is NOT the Paris Metro or the London Tube. Do the private car thingie, we’ve always had a private car. Do NOT walk after dark, no never. Also, Saks Fifth as you know is my mother-ship, silly people game me a charge when I was seventeen, would you like to use my charge, you can spend more? Please do Bloomies and get me that DKNY t-shirt. You’ll be so close. Do salivate over Saks shoe department. The boutique one up a few floors higher. Love their shoes. Buy your Mother something nice, ya hear?

  8. August 3, 2010 5:37 PM

    Okay, I’m reading Pamela’s “Don’ts” and peeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeing lol! Don’t take the subway? Don’t walk after dark? Private car? As in a gypsy taxi? Geez Louise. You’d think NYC was third world or something LOL!

    As a native, I fully approve of your list. EXCEPT, be prepared to wait an extraordinary amount of time to visit the Empire State Building. Maybe worth it, maybe not (Tom Hanks will not be waiting at the top).

    The Four Seasons is muy fancy and very corporate FYI (not to pee on your parade or anything).

    Macy’s Herald Square? Eh. Don’t you have a Macy’s? It’s the same thing but bigger and CROWDED. Forget yelling at slow walkers…you’ll murder someone. Same with Sephora.

    Getting lost is part of the fun. Just email/text me and I’ll get you back on track.

    Good luck with the Project Mom Casting.

    WICKED is so damn GOOD.

    Look forward to meet you!

    • amyblam permalink*
      August 3, 2010 5:49 PM

      That’s my mom, she thinks I’m 5.
      No on the Macy’s. Apparently I live in a 3rd world country.
      I have wanted to go to the top but not if it takes an hour. Tom Hanks NOT being there would be a plus. 😉
      I look forward to meeting you!

  9. August 3, 2010 7:31 PM

    You know I am from NYC right? As long as we’re together (so People’s Party, Four Seasons, Saks, ginormous Sephora) you won’t get lost. The rest of the time? You’re on your own….

  10. August 4, 2010 12:52 AM

    BlogHer sounds fun! We have a similar thing that started in the UK this year called Cybermummy but it’s not on the same scale yet! I couldn’t make it this time but hopefully next year. I know that after the conference a lot of people met up but there were no organised parties as such. Good luck with the Project Mom Casting interview!

  11. alexandra174 permalink
    August 4, 2010 1:04 AM

    You’ll do great. You’re so pretty, you remind me of Jen Lancaster. You will be awesome. Can’t wait to hear what BlogHer is really all about. GOOD LUCK! Kiss Amber Writes for me.. I adore her sweetness. Aunt Becky, too.

  12. August 4, 2010 7:54 AM

    helpful for traveler.

  13. mairzeebp permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:17 AM

    You are going to have such a fantastic time! Loved the post. You need to tell me – ok, you don’t need to do anything … allow me to rephrase…would you please include in some kind of post or drop me a line and let me know how Wicked was?? I saw it in Philadelphia and thought it was amazing. I loved it and would see it ten more times. Also, please feel free to include in that post/email how the Sephora experience was. It is my home away from home. If I could find a way to live there/have my mail forwarded there/watch reality tv there while trying on lip gloss, I would in an instant.

    Have fun!!

  14. August 4, 2010 10:46 AM

    You are going to have SO much fun! Believe it or not, NYC isn’t too tough to get around. Everything is so ‘square’. Blocks upon blocks. Wicked is awesome! You will love it. Sooo wish I was going. What did you forget? Picking me up on the way! Sitting here wondering why I didn’t think earlier about how much fun it would be! Bummer.

  15. August 4, 2010 3:47 PM

    Hey I’ll be at the bloggers event tomorrow. I am looking forward to meeting you 🙂

  16. August 4, 2010 6:36 PM

    Definitely go to Crumbs for the best cupcake of your entire existence!

Leave a Reply

