Skip to content

I shake my fist at you Disney Friends for Change

September 21, 2010

If it weren’t for Wizards of Waverly Place-damn you Selena Gomez and your gorgeous shiny full hair-I think I could go without the Disney Channel. (especially as I am also rather fond of Victorious and iCarly-which are on Nick.)

Even with the allure of Selena’s hair, I am always annoyed by the Disney Friends for Change. Seriously? I don’t need little childrens who are paid to be sass mouthed and obnoxious lecturing me on the environment.

Scratch that-I don’t need sanctimonious fetuses teaching bratchild how to lecture me on the environment.

Case in point:

When we were in NOLA bratchild and I had a discussion about how often you should use towels.

As she was sitting on the toilet, she noticed the little sign they hang on the bathroom door about if your towel is on the floor you want it replaced blah blah blah. We had this exchange:

Bratchild: “Mom! Come here please! Mooooooooommmmmmmm!”

Me: “Wow. I couldn’t hear you from two feet away. What can I help you with?”

Bratchild: “Mom. Did you read this sign?” (gesturing with her head.) “Did you know it’s about towels?” (shooting daggers with her eyes at the towels on the floor.)

Me: “Yes, I did.”

Bratchild: “Well than you KNOW that these towels are on the floor which means we don’t want to re-use them. Which means they will have to wash NEW ones. Which is bad for the environment. We should pick them up and use them again.”

Me: “Well…they’ve been on the floor now so I am certainly NOT reusing them and it’s better for your skin to use a new towel every day which we would do at home if I had a sisterwife and/or didn’t detest laundry so  much. Or if you knew how to do laundry.”

Bratchild: “Well, they always sing on Disney channel about how we need to take care of the Earth and save the animals and stuff. I think you are NOT doing a good job. Plus, you wear fur.”

Me: “You want to save the Earth? Quit taking 30 minute showers. You’re killing Nemo and all his little fish friends.”

So there you go. How to talk environment 101. I would also like to point out that for the duration of this convo, bratchild was sitting on the toilet. That combined with her seriousness quadrupled the hilarity. I was choking back giggles the entire time.

Oh-so in case you DON’T know-I have another home on the web over at Southern Fried Snark. I blog there a couple times a week. We also have a webshow live on Tuesday nights. We are on hiatus right now as our studio is being redone but you can still check out posts. My most recent is about the Dancing with the Stars premiere.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 8:56 PM

    OMG seriously? SO glad my kids are grown and not watching that now! We just use the whole ‘go green’ thing to explain why we do not water the lawn, because we are conserving water, a valuable resource, it is our part of going green. Never mind that if we dropped a match on it we’d wipe out the entire block in a fire…we’re trying to be environmental ya know. LOL (too cheap to pay to water it)

  2. Jenny permalink
    September 21, 2010 9:03 PM

    Hate, hate, hate Disney’s Friends for Change. How ’bout change the channel? Hate being lectured by my 7 year old. I like to turn on all the lights, run the washer and dryer, dishwasher, turn on the oven and microwave and let all the water out of the faucets during earth hour when everyone else observes in the dark. Oh, and I crank up both cars and burn the gas for the hour as well.

    • amyblam permalink*
      September 23, 2010 8:45 PM

      That’s the best part, that child can not turn off a light to save her life!

  3. September 22, 2010 4:52 AM

    I was raised different that the new generation of “eco-freaks” they are turning our kids into. It pisses me off that they have to poison the minds of the little ones. How sad.

  4. September 22, 2010 10:07 AM

    Ha! I have seen that too a bazillion times, now if those same kids could tell OUR kids to clean their room, we would love it, right? Can you imagine?

    • amyblam permalink*
      September 23, 2010 8:46 PM

      Maybe they’ll take requests? I’m sure they could come up with a snazzy clean your room ditty.

  5. September 22, 2010 11:01 AM

    Ha!! She told you!
    There is no way I would have been able to keep a straight face while being preached to from the toilet.

  6. September 22, 2010 3:36 PM

    oh your little one is a firecracker! Love that she was not deterred from making a cogent argument just because she was on the ‘throne’. hee hee

    • amyblam permalink*
      September 23, 2010 8:53 PM

      She could use a little more deterring 😉

  7. September 23, 2010 3:32 PM

    That’s brilliant!!! I love your line about ’30 minute showers killing Nemo and his fish friends’ ROFL!!!

  8. September 23, 2010 8:25 PM

    Hilarious! I get those lectures, too. Stupid righteous Disney Channel.

  9. September 24, 2010 12:16 PM

    I hate all those shrill little whippersnappers over at the D channel. I have no respect for that place, they birthed a Miley Cyrus and for that, I will hate them forever.

    And I also hate those stupid reminders at the hotels. Hotels don’t care about environments. They care about saving some money on the suds from the quadrillion towels they have to wash a day.

    And because I can, I throw those babies all over the floor. It makes me feel like my family must feel here at home every day.

  10. September 24, 2010 1:48 PM

    Bratchild is awesome but you win that fight. Hands down! 🙂

    Who is this Selena Gomez person? I was in the Kmart in Manhattan yesterday and there was a line wrapped around the store to meet her. Of course everyone on line was under the age of 16 so that’s probably why I don’t know who she is.

Leave a Reply

