Skip to content

Friday Flip-Offs 10/8

October 8, 2010

Friday and flipping-they just go together. Momma Kiss is hosting so go over there and visit and check out the other blogs linked up since I’m STILL not clever enough to make the linky show here.

Two skinny bony middle fingers to the hospital. Really? You have people coming in who haven’t been allowed to drink and eat for hours and you have donuts and coffee right inside the front door? May as well put a neon sign on top that says ha ha you can’t have these.

A middle finger that’s busy texting goes to anti-texting laws that just passed here. NOT because I don’t agree with them…have you guys seen Seven Pounds? Cured me of THAT whole shebang. But the main reason I’m flipping them off? They’re pointless. As long as people can still dig in their pockets for cigarettes and lighters, apply makeup-even mascara and for god’s sake READ while driving-I somehow don’t think using a cell phone is the ONLY problem. PLUS-to even get in trouble for texting/talking on the phone while driving you have to be doing something else, speeding, etc, to get in trouble for it.

Ten kleenex covered middle fingers go to snot. Seriously, ya’ll. For well over a week now I have had crap in my nose and a sore throat. Over it.

Another middle finger goes to Word Feud. I have become addicted to you.

And finally, middle fingers draped in threadbare cashmere go to my thighs. As I mentioned yesterday, I am in deep, dark mourning for my cashmere lounge pants. Let’s all take a moment of silence. Again.

What’s got my blogland friends fired up this week?

In other news, the Top Mommy Blogs people reset everyone to zero and I am hurting because of fall break and being passed out has had me largely off the webs. SO I would LOVE you all to vote for me by clicking crazy juggling chickadee to the right and then clicking “click to vote.” Pretty please with sparkles and unicorns on top?

Also, I’m still TRYING to give the internets $100 Amazon gift card. When I get to 500 “likers” on old facebook, I will somehow figure out how to do a random drawing. And if you recommend me to your friends, and other than MANY obvious reasons, I can’t see why you wouldn’t and someone you refer wins, you get a $50 Amazon gift card. So please like me over hereish.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 10:02 AM

    Whatever Word Feud is, I hope it’s free. I flipped off Ebay which is certainly NOT free, equally addictive, and bleeding me dry…

  2. October 8, 2010 10:48 AM

    We got the anti-text law earlier this year…instead we just recently got the absolutely no holding your phone in your hand at any time when you are behind the wheel law. It went into effect last week and I practically got smothered by a mob of crazed blue-tooth hungry people at Best Buy when I went in there to buy one.

    Now I can be one of those douchebags in the grocery store that looks like they are talking to themselves but are really on the bluetooth!

  3. October 8, 2010 11:06 AM

    When I click on the “Click to vote” it takes me to the directory. Did I do that correctly? Sorry, I’m a spazz.

    I’m sorry to hear you are a snotface. That was me a few weeks ago, and it was soooo uncomf. Boo. Hope you feel better soon!

    Have a great weekend!

  4. October 8, 2010 11:09 AM

    Sigh. I’ve had a cold that’s been coming and going for nearly a month now and I’m SO OVER IT too. I hope you feel better soon. On my way to vote for you now chicky! Happy weekend to ya!

  5. October 8, 2010 12:16 PM

    I would vote, but I can’t find the place!

  6. October 8, 2010 1:45 PM

    I’m with you on the laws. What about trying to reach back and rescue a big fat booger from your kid’s finger before it gets wiped on the seat or worse, flung in you hair? Much worse than texting.

  7. October 8, 2010 4:32 PM

    In Chicago, you’re not allowed to talk on the phone while driving and people still do it. I’ve also seen people read the newspaper, drive with their knees, and dance while driving. So much more dangerous than driving. I’m so with you on those laws.

    My best friend’s brother reads while driving and does word searches. Never, EVER getting into a car with him.

  8. October 10, 2010 6:35 AM

    all flip-worthy choices. bravo. 😉

  9. October 10, 2010 5:44 PM

    I flip all 10 fingers to rush hour traffic and bad drivers. Twice this week I got to the office in desperate need of a Bloody Mary. Unfortunately, that sort of thing is frowned upon so I had to settle for chocolate but seriously? Rush hour is pushing me dangerously close to the brink of insanity.

  10. October 12, 2010 8:24 PM

    Thanks for the comment over at my blog! It’s so nice to know I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

