Skip to content

Happy Anniverseraryness to us

October 27, 2010

Today is mine and J’s third wedding anniversary.

Amazing.

When we first met, we were LESS than fond of each other. We met in a bathroom on St. Patrick’s Day in 2005, I think it was.

I maintain I walked into the girls’ restroom at the bar and he was in there with several rugby players. He INSISTS I walked into the boys’ bathroom, said something about being tired of waiting for the girls’ and ordered them all out.

In ALL honesty, his version is slightly more plausible.

Of course, his reaction? Being St. Patty’s Day he was wearing his kilt. (Not that he limits wearing it to St. Patty’s Day by any means but in this instance, it was actually somewhat appropriate.) He flashed me and told me off.

And then? Nothing. We didn’t speak or meet up or talk to each other or pay attention to each other until August or so of 2006. And then, in the tradition of all great modern love stories-snort, we started emailing via Myspace.

But then, I ran into him at a rugby tournament in Oct. 2006; it was terribly awkward, he offered me deathmix and I ignored him and walked away.

SOMEHOW, and I still can’t figure it out, we had our first, I guess date is the best term, on Oct. 28 of 2006. It didn’t go particularly well. I drank deathmix (if you’re not familiar, google Tucker Max-he totally ripped this off from J) and went to sleep at like 5 pm. Missed several Halloween parties and everyone I knew was convinced I was dead somewhere.

When I woke up, I wanted Krystal, naturally, so that was the first restaurant at which we ever ate together. The romance never ends.

In November of that same year, he flew out to Vegas for one night to surprise me at a conference I was working. It didn’t go particularly well either as we got lost from each other somehow for about the first 5 hours he was there.

We FINALLY met up and the first ever pic of us together was taken:

Lovely, no? That evening was also the occasion of our first dance, making Smack That by Akon featuring Eminem “our song.” You seriously can’t make that shit up.

That evening was when I knew when I was in love with him, particularly when I sat down in front of a fountain at The Venetian and refused to walk another step since my shoes were hurting AND he didn’t get annoyed at all.

And then? Almost a year to the date of our first date, we got married.

The facial expression of my priest? Is one of my favorite facial expressions ever.

Yes, my dress is pink. And short.

And here we are three years later and I am STILL married to the most amazing guy I’ve ever known. And happier and more in love every day, general sappyness abounds-blech.

Seriously.

Happy anniversary to the smartest, funniest, kindest (yes, I am sometimes annoyed by those last two traits particularly when I am wound up or he is funnier than me.) and, most importantly, patient man I’ve ever met.

You’re the only man I’ve ever known that I think is smart enough to be in charge of things and that makes my little black control freak heart happy.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 12:36 PM

    Happy Birthday you two!! Keep celebrating more and more each year 🙂

  2. Jenny permalink
    October 27, 2010 1:20 PM

    So cute! Happy anniversary!

  3. October 27, 2010 1:33 PM

    I adore that 3rd picture! Makes me want to re-do my wedding pics. And I love that your dress was pink — why not? Of course, that being said, I went to a family members wedding once, and she wore a massive cupcake over the top crazy PINK dress for her wedding, with a giant fuschia bow, and we were all WTF??? But yours? LOVE!!

  4. October 27, 2010 2:12 PM

    Love the story and the pictures! Happy anniversary!

  5. October 27, 2010 3:00 PM

    Happy anniversary! I love your first meeting story!

  6. October 27, 2010 4:32 PM

    There are so many things about this post that I love… all the gushy, sentimental stuff that doesn’t make me want to vomit in my mouth because it truly is all very kismet and beautiful. *Wuv*

    But my favorite part?

    Is that “Smack That” was the first song you danced together. LMAO!! And this is why you’re awesome. Thanks for the laugh 🙂

    Happy anniversary to you both–and many, many happy returns.

  7. October 27, 2010 7:48 PM

    Great story. I had to laugh at “your song”…..very amusing! Have a Happy Anniversary!!!

    Stay Light and Breezy (and funny),

    Love,
    The ZippyChix

  8. October 28, 2010 8:00 AM

    I’m gonna have Smack That in my head all day. I love that song! Congratulations on your anniversary. We’re celebrating 10 in under a month…and my husband carried my heeled boots around the Forum Shops in Vegas for 2 hours once while I walked around barefoot because my feet hurt.

    Have we happened upon a new standard for a ‘good guy?” 🙂

  9. November 1, 2010 7:03 AM

    Happy anniversary to you two! 🙂 The wedding photos are lovely – I especially like the third one. So sweet! May you both spend the rest of your lives making each other happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

