Skip to content

Fa la la la la…festive footwear

December 22, 2010

I realized I haven’t discussed shoes, or sparkle things, in quite some time. Several of you reminded me of this, which helped.

So with the holidays looming, not in a menacing way, I thought I’d show off two of my most favoritest party choices.

You can’t really tell from the photos but these are the sparkliest of the sparkles. They’re basically doused in glitter and glitter is one of my fave things. They’re Steve Madden, which I normally don’t like. The majority of that brand seem uncomfortable and not super well-made. Well, these could have nails sticking out from the footbed into my feet and I wouldn’t care. In fact, the first time I wore them, they rubbed a scab on my right foot ankleish area. They haven’t done that since and are actually fairly comfortable. And if glitter falls off? Some spray glue and multi-color glitter are ALL I need. I can wear them until I’m 100.

These, I adore. They’re a pair of Kate Spades I’ve wanted forevah but didn’t want to spend as much as they cost. In my experience, Kate Spade shoes are well-made but painful as all get out. I have two pairs I won’t even wear. Stupid kitten heels making it impossible to walk in a normal manner…

ANYSHOES-J and I saw these at a Saks Off Fifth somewhere in Virginia. (Technically I saw them. J was in the car. But he was with me in spirit. Or something.) They were WAY less than full price AND an additional percentage off. BUT I was trying to be “good” and had just bought a Calvin Klein evening gown so I left without them.

Back in the car, I spent hours in traffic fixating on them. I finally gave in and called the store to order them. So now I had to pay shipping. J doesn’t understand why I didn’t get them in the first place. I don’t either. They are actually really comfy, despite the super skinny heel.

I have a silver sparkle pair lined up for New Year’s Eve but they were in the top of the shoe shelves and I was too lazy to get a stool and/or poke at them with a sharp object until they fell on my head.

Hooray for holiday parties! (I have yet to fall down in EITHER pair of shoes. Hooray for that also!)

Do you like dressing up for the holidays? What’s your favorite accessory?

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 7:37 AM

    I don’t really dress up that much, but for those sparkle shoes, I’d put on a skirt!

  2. December 23, 2010 11:15 AM

    Ooh those shoes are pretty!

    I’m not really dressing up for Christmas but I will be dressed up for NYE!

  3. mairzeebp permalink
    December 27, 2010 9:37 AM

    Although I am a fan of both pairs, I LOVE, ADORE, MUST HAVE pair number two. I may not be able to walk in them but, I’ll be just as happy admiring them propped up on the recliner as I sit back and watch some reality TV.

    Oh, and I would have left them too and then thought about them until I couldn’t sleep :).

  4. December 27, 2010 9:17 PM

    They’re both adorable. I totally know what you mean with certain brands that just KILL! I’m not daring with shoes anymore. I just can’t take being uncomfortable.

  5. January 4, 2011 9:05 PM

    Hi Amy,
    Thanks very much for the comment! I love both pairs of shoes in this post – especially the sparkly Steve Madden ones. Your blog is excellent by the way!

Trackbacks

  1. Well, at least it’s not the end of February… « Amy's Blam

Leave a Reply

