Skip to content

Well, at least it’s not the end of February…

January 3, 2011

Which is when I managed to get this up last year. Seriously. I reviewed 2009 in almost March of 2010. Being as it’s the 3rd of January-look at me all ahead of the game.

Let’s see what I think this year.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before? As I get older, this becomes harder to answer. BUT lacking all flippancy, I’m going to go with held my tongue and walked away…in several cases. Hooray for personal growth-or something.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I have made resolutions for 2011, which is a change from before, I haven’t vocalized them yet so in addition to exciting blog stuff, I hope, you’ll all also get to read the obligatory resolutions post.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
I saw lots of babies on facebook, can I count that? And no, once again, I was not called upon to handle the emergency delivery of a baby on a plane or in a mall or something. Praise Jeebus and waffles.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No. Some friends suffered losses which was sad but I didn’t. Though I dread the time when I will.

5. What countries did you visit?

Mexico. Ditto last year.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010? Scheduled times. You know, like write an hour at a certain time every day. Exercise a certain hour every day. Avoid getting sucked into bad tv and realizing it’s 2pm and time to do carpool and I haven’t brushed my teeth and have been drooling on myself. The previous portion of this answer is from 2009’s review. And it’s still true. I’m amazed I’m not more scheduled with my propensity for color-coded Christmas card spreadsheets and the like but no, not yet. BUT my newspaper gig is way more regular hours than my event management gig so if I were ever going to schedule myself better-now’s the year.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? October 27th, our three-year wedding anniversary. February and the Vagina Monologues. June in Mexico. August at BlogHer. September and the job quitting. Vegas in December. Yes, I realize those aren’t dates but I don’t feel like getting off my ass and grabbing my planner.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Prioritizing. Making a leap from a big money job to a big fulfillment job. I guess becoming what I wanted to be when I grew up. (No. I’m still not a showgirl or a private investigator.)

9. What was your biggest failure? I’m still not so good with patience and letting go. Better-but not there.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Just dealing with the ongoing-ness of my stomach crap still.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Lord, that’s a tough one. My Droid X? I love it. Trip to Mexico for bratchild’s bday? That was pretty fantastic.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? J & bratchild-always. Ditto last year. My parents and my sister. My co-workers. All of the above are some awesome people. I’m also going to add me. I grew up in a lot of ways.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Somehow I have yet to be rendered unappallable. Shocking. I’m still appalled by the legal system and J’s ex-wife. I wouldn’t say depressed but perhaps saddened about people I miss. Though it’s not really them I miss, more who they used to be. So I guess ghosts in a way? Yeah. Sure. Ghosts are depressing, right? (Except for the one in my closet room that opens drawers and turns on the tv-that’s just ridiculous.) There is one person who’s behavior did really sadden me-thought they were better than they were.

 14. Where did most of your money go? House. But J’s crazy ex still gets a lovely portion. However, no matter what comes up when we go to court, we do at least know that October of 2011 is the last time we’ll ever have to give her anything. So that’s a plus. 

15. What did you get really excited about?  I’m going to go with last year’s stance of viewing excitable in a squealing happy way not in an agitated trying to avoid a homicidal rage way.

SO, with that said, I got excited about Vegas. Mexico. The snowflake projector. My iPad. Family. Christmas lights. Sparkly things. Word Feud on the Droid. These Kate Spade shoes. Rosebud Salve being available in a tube.  Netflix on demand. Supernatural. New York with Ronda. My job. My blog. All the awesome people out there in Blogland.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010? Defying Gravity from Wicked. Ronda and I saw it in New York and I’d never really listened to the song before. Perfect sentiment for Twenty-ten.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
 Happier or sadder? Happier-ALWAYS, always happier. Life gets better every day-even when I think it’s peaked. Thinner or fatter? Fatter. Not happy about that. Richer or poorer? Sticking with thinking detailed money chats are tacky but I think we’re about the same. I took a pay cut but since I reached the end of shoes I’m not spending much. In all honesty, we are in a pretty good place financially and don’t spend what we don’t have. So making less but being more sensible? Whatever that adds up to.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Write. Which sounds funny since I get paid to write. I wish I would have worked on the book and blog more.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
I wish I had done less of trying to rule the world. Some people won’t act right no matter what. And I can’t fix that.

 20. How did you spend Christmas?

Christmas Eve Eve we had Goodie Night with the fam and Miss’ in-laws. Christmas Eve we do gumbo and church. Christmas Day we spend at my parents. This year we added in the gambling element with Tripoley and I was pretty jazzed about that.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010? Yup. Every day.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Well, I’ve spent the last week watching seasons of Veronica Mars and I’m pretty in love with that. (Logan all the way. Duncan is lame.) I also adore Supernatural.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No. Bothered by some people and wish they would move to their own private island? Yes.

24. What was the best book you read? Best is hard for me. I bet I read at least 60 books in 2010-and liked most of them. I did not care for Chelsea Chelsea Bang Band and Jen Lancaster’s recent book was her weakest. I loved The Thirteenth Tale. Ooh, I really LOVED the books by Sarah Addison Allen and Joshilyn Jackson-you should all read everything by those two ladies.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery? The Wicked soundtrack? I can’t think of anything else new.

26. What did you want and get? Life is good. Most things I want, and certainly everything I need, I have. Feel free to commence throwing things.

27. What did you want and not get? Same old same old. Sisterwife, minions, personal hairdresser. For Alan Rickman to move in and read us all bedtime stories every night. A book deal. A lap band. Fake hair. Correction: GOOD fake hair. (I didn’t get any but if I did, I would want it to be good.)

28. What was your favorite film of this year? I really loved Inception.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I was 33 and have no recollection of what we did. I think we had a family dinner.

 30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? My year was pretty satisfying. I would have liked to have made it to court against J’s ex. And won.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010? Same as always. Classic. Black. Luxe. Sparklier than normal but that’s mainly because more sparkly things are available for purchase.

32. What kept you sane?

Being happy.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Kate Middleton. But mainly because she’s going to be a princess. And I’m totally fascinated with that. Jen Lancaster.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
It’s not really one issue it’s really the sense of entitlement that seems to be catching. People wanting the government to “take care” of everything. That’s some bullshit.

35. Who did you miss?
Was missing several old friends this year.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
Peeps at BlogHer-the ONLY truly worthwhile part of the conference. A super funny chick introduced to me by another super funny chick that I met at the Chelsea Handler show. And a former acquaintance I re-met and turned into a friend.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
To not sweat the small stuff.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: 
Something has changed within me 
Something is not the same
 I’m through with playing by the rules
Of someone else’s game
Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes: and leap!
I’m through accepting limits
‘Cuz someone says they’re so
Some things I cannot change
But till I try, I’ll never know!
Too long I’ve been afraid of
Losing love I guess I’ve lost
Well, if that’s love
It comes at much too high a cost!
So if you care to find me
Look to the western sky!
As someone told me lately:
“Ev’ryone deserves the chance to fly!”
And if I’m flying solo
At least I’m flying free
To those who’d ground me
Take a message back from me
Tell them how I am
Defying gravity
I’m flying high
Defying gravity
And soon I’ll match them in renown
And nobody in all of Oz
No Wizard that there is or was
Is ever gonna bring me down!

Well, how was your year? Did you do a wrap-up? Share a link in the comments so I can come read it.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 7:18 AM

    well, it definitely sounded like you had a great year, Amy! I haven’t seen Wicked yet but I heard wonderful things about it. Love your answer to #19 & #31…tooo funny!! Happy New Year!

  2. January 3, 2011 10:32 AM

    38.
    oh how i love #38. So. Much.

    my goal? is to type 2011 instead of 2001.

    lofty.

  3. January 3, 2011 11:47 AM

    I love Wicked. The End.

    No, not really, I have way too much to say, like do NOT even get me started on the government’s taking care of everyone. And really, really, really don’t get me started on this whole capitalists are the bad guy thing that the people in charge are trying to promote.

    And I’m glad sparkle is in and I’m even more excited about ruffles popularity. What more could a girl ask for, sparkles and ruffles!

    And oh my Lawdy, if Alan Rickman could come over to my house after he’s done at yours and read me Shakespeare every night, I would go off to dream land in bliss! Oh that man and his gorgeous voice!

    I hope your 11 is everything sparkly, Amyblam. Here’s to a great one!

  4. January 3, 2011 2:57 PM

    You have such a great outlook on life, Amy. What a great recap to what sounds like a wonderful year. I’m glad you’re in such a good space and I’m also happy to hear the drama concerning J’s ex is coming to an end (though I wish it were sooner than October. In any event, plan a party!).

    Here’s to a sparkly 2011~wishing you and yours a happy and healthy 🙂

  5. January 3, 2011 4:11 PM

    This was wonderful, truly. I really enjoyed it, every last one. And they all made me think — and give you total kudos for all the time you put into this post. I just might hop on . .

  6. January 3, 2011 7:55 PM

    I love this. Got to see a lot of different sides to you in this post, Amy!

  7. Lady V permalink
    January 4, 2011 9:12 PM

    I think your blog is super neato!!!

  8. January 4, 2011 10:15 PM

    Number 9, major problem for me. So so bad at letting go. Especially of bad stuff that has hurt me or strife in general . We could be patience pals. Charlotte is right, you have a great outlook; it helps to read stuff like this for me.

  9. January 4, 2011 11:50 PM

    I did this questionnaire as well, only mine was much shorter…I feel like I got ripped off!
    But your answers were very serious and honest. I was basically making an ass of myself as usual. However, I suspect when asked “what was your favourite movie,” my answer “Grown Ups” wouldn’t exactly help me gain much respect.

  10. January 6, 2011 7:20 AM

    I made the list! WOOHOO!

    • AmyBlam permalink*
      January 6, 2011 9:35 PM

      Well-OF COURSE!

Leave a Reply

