Skip to content

Since Kirk Cameron was right, here’s my resolutions

January 12, 2011

I was holding out on making resolutions to see if the world was going to end. No point in expending the energy if a swarm of locusts were going to take us all away…I did almost pee on myself yesterday, however, when a bird flew into my kitchen window.

And then Kirk Cameron said they end wasn’t nigh and, well, if Mike Seaver thinks we are safe well by God we must be so here goes.
We had a lovely time ringing  in the New Year but it’s hard to make resolutions with really loud music:

So, without further ado, here are my first ever resolutions. I’ve never made formal resolutions before but figured I’d give it a whirl.

1. I’d like to blog more and read LOTS more blogs. I’m going to get through the top 50 chick blogger’s on Gigi’s list and visit all the blogs of people I met at BlogHer. (I know. It was in August. Don’t judge.)

2. Buy a snow shovel. I realize once I do this it will probably never snow here again but I really don’t want to “shovel” a driveway with a rake again. It didn’t work particularly well but I do think the neighbors were entertained.

3. Exercise for 30 minutes every day.

4. Quit mocking people that use multiple exclamation points after most sentences and realize, bless their hearts, that they are challenged and deserve pity. Writing like this drives me nuts: OMG!!! I LOVE my friends!!! Pray for meeee!!! See you later!!! SO fun!!!

5. Figure out the whole guest posting thing. Have some, do some, whatever.

6. Finish chapter and query letter-hopefully before end of 2011. Far before end.

7. Attempt to not so vehemently dislike random people on reality shows such as Danielle, Camille, Janessa and, my new least fave,  Michelle from latest season of The Bachelor.

8. Clean out and donate old clothes and shoes.

9. Get regular oil changes. In the car.

10. Organize twitter using Tweetdeck or something.

11. Get Halloween glitter out of the bathroom, it’s like it’s super glued to the floor.

12.  Drink water, lots and lots of water. Blech.

13. Wash face before bed every night.

14. Find doctor to prescribe Latisse.

15. Finally answer the age-old question of whether or not I want to wear pajama jeans.

Don’t forget my awesome Just Call Me Oprah giveaway!

Did you make resolutions? What are they? Think resolutions are silly?

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 10:21 AM

    My New Year’s Resolution is to conquer the world (you know, before it ends) and rename is Lolalandia. Too much, you think? Well, them maybe I’ll just get the gym more regularly.

  2. January 12, 2011 10:21 AM

    That should be rename IT. When I rule the world? I’m going to need an editor.

  3. January 12, 2011 10:23 AM

    Oh my G-d…and THEN not THEM. SO embarrassed!!! (triple exclamation marks on purpose)

  4. January 12, 2011 3:35 PM

    Please don’t do the jamma jeans. I beg you. This exercise you say? 30 min a day? Ambitious.

  5. January 12, 2011 10:03 PM

    I know I say it all the time, but I really think we are one and the same. I’ve got to start washing my face before I fall asleep instead of 3:00 am, when I roll over and realize my eyelashes are stuck to the pillow.

    Oh and I do like the Tweetdeck. It helps a lot.

    And if I buy the pajama jeans I will officially be in pajamas all day long. Wait a minute. I already am in my pajamas all day.

    “In the car” Snort.

    I’m trying to eat healthier, exercise like I used to which was a lot and of course, bring the condition called pizzarhhea, into the light and out of the darkness of the bathroom.

  6. January 12, 2011 10:50 PM

    Danielle & Camille are both psychotic and that is why we vehemently dislike them. No resolution needed, as they chose to hang their Crazy Pants out on the line for all to see.

    That is all.

    Good luck and stuff with the rest.

  7. January 13, 2011 8:31 AM

    I see no good reason why you should cut back on hatred of reality stars.

    That is a simple joy we all deserve.

  8. January 13, 2011 1:38 PM

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 I had thought about writing resolutions but then I was worried someone might hold me accountable to them. The guest post thing? Well, let’s twalk…

  9. January 13, 2011 1:53 PM

    I’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions. If you don’t make them, you can’t fail at them. haha
    I know what you mean about the exclamation points. My last boss would do that constantly. This too – ??? Always made it seem like he was constantly in a panic. I’m not sure if he was, but I do know he was a douche bag.

  10. January 13, 2011 2:41 PM

    EEK!!! I never knew I did that until just now!!! See, I can’t stop :p Please don’t hate me for it… I’m just… slow, that’s all 🙂

    There’s nothing wrong with disliking the evil housewives or contestants on bachelor.

  11. January 13, 2011 8:40 PM

    No, I think you’re ok. I’m certain I heard the end of the world was 2012. Just don’t make any resolutions next year.
    I love how “get an oil change” is part of your resolutions. See. I would only think of that one when my motor conked out while I was driving. It’s brilliant, really.

Leave a Reply

