Skip to content

Freezing Friday Flip-Offs 1/14

January 14, 2011

Morning all and a happy Friday. It’s a little chilly down here in Bama at a whopping 18 degrees.

We’ve been out of school all week for snow and I personally love it. Mainly because I’m lazy and like any reason to stay home in pj’s and also because I LIKE hanging out at home with bratchild.

So that brings me to my first flip-off. Frozen little middle fingers go to people who have been complaining about their kids non-stop. Oh how horrible to have to hang out with your children. Granted, I only have one and she’s a dream most of the time but still-I can’t stand the constant going to sell my kids, need wine, my kids are assholes, etc. Drives me nuts.

On the converse of that frustrated middle fingers go to companies that are asshats about people missing work because their kids are out of school. Seriously? When schools close, daycares close. People can’t just tie little children to a chair, leave them a bowl of water and come to work. I’ve seen people struggle all week with this. If you can’t bring your kids to work and can’t leave them home-what are you supposed to do? Luckily, I work part-time and can do most of my work from home but I used to work for a company that really, REALLY sucked so I feel these people’s pain.

Sneezing middle fingers covered in dog hair go to Clifford. I love my sweet little (ginormous) dog but the whole hair issue is driving me nuts. Despite it being colder than it EVER gets (see above, 18 degrees) he is expelling clumps of hair from his body. It’s driving me nuts. I despise dog hair and it makes me sneezy and wheezy. I don’t know if he’s losing hair because he’s stressed about the snow or what but I’m about to shave him since vacuuming him isn’t really working.

Middle fingers that are blurred out by censors go to this whole editing of Huck Finn thing. I can see the point that they are trying to make it accessible to schools. Really, I get that. But I fundamentally disagree with censorship. Particularly in the case of classic literature. Books give a valuable picture of culture and different times and changing that? Changes the experience. If we whitewash history, how will people learn from it? I don’t use the word but I don’t think that anyone has the right to say I can’t. When I was in high school, Kaffir Boy was required reading. The whole title of the book is a racial slur-are they going to change it too?

Remember the fifth horseman of the apocalypse? The Victoria’s Secret Sale and how the end was nigh and all that? (I was told it’s pretty funny so if you haven’t read it, go catch up.) ANYWAYS and then Kirk Cameron said the world WASN’T going to end so I felt better enough to make resolutions. BUT NOW? Well shit-fire and damnation-the end of the world is zoning in on me. About 300 dead birds were found in Athens, Al and people? That is a little close for comfort. They say the birds experienced some kind of trauma. You think? What? Like the flew into a wall of demons on their way out of the hellmouth? So freaked out middle fingers go to all these dead animal incidents.

And if the end of the world wasn’t enough, now we all have to change our zodiac signs? Astrologically confused middle fingers go to the whole now I’m a Sagittarius thing. I am (was?) a Capricorn. Now I’m a Sagittarius? I’m not a big astrology person despite having had some freaky right-on horoscopes. (In high school I had a horoscope tell me I would marry a Leo who’s name started with a J. And? I did. No, I didn’t plan it that way. It just happened. And now that he’s no longer a Leo, I guess I have to go find a real Leo who’s name starts with a J.) It’s ridiculous and I’m fairly sure it’s just a ploy for people to get new tattoos and buy new sign stuff. Boost the economy and all that.

Well, there’s what I’m pondering this morning. What about you guys? What’s made you mad this week? Thoughts on the zodiac or Mark Twain? The zodiac of Mark Twain? Are birds dying in protest of Huck Finn being changed?

PLEASE don’t forget to enter the giveaway-Stila cosmetics, Godiva chocolate, Assets and more? ONE lucky reader will get it all. Deadline is Sunday at midnight.

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela *Amy and Melissa's Mother Extraordinaire* permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:19 AM

    You are spot-on with your comments about changing great literature to accommodate “some” people. Come on, our history is not always pretty but it is our history. Huck dearly loves and respects Jim, their relationship is the whole basis for the book. I do not understand libraries allowing people to ban books from their shelves or a school to not allow certain books to be read by students. Come on, it is about learning from our past so we do not have to repeat it. Think Nazi Germany, they tried to erase a whole society and whitewash their history. No banning of books!!!!

  2. LizzieV permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:48 AM

    Happy Belated Birthday!

    These are the shoes you should wear on Fridays.

    http://style.icanhascheezburger.com/2011/01/11/crazy-shoes-fu-heels-and-boots/

    If you haven’t looked at the “Style” tab on that LOL-Cat site, you should. But I’m certain you have; you know shoes. It’s crazy– it even makes me want to go out to buy shoes, and with my big flat feet, shoes hate me.

    (Otherwise, I think you got the gist of the week covered. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!! hee-hee)

  3. January 14, 2011 1:25 PM

    Uh, TOTALLY agree with your first flip-off. So annoying, especially when I know the children personally and know that they are ANGELS. I have loved every extra minute I got with the kids this week.

  4. Jamie permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:53 PM

    I TOTALLY agree about the complaining about your kids thing. If you are going to complain about them ALL THE TIME why did you even have them?!?!?

    I’m right there with the crappy companies too! My husband got WRITTEN UP for having to take off on Thursday! AHHHHHH!!!!!!!

  5. January 15, 2011 8:06 AM

    The zodiac sign thing is just silly to me. I don’t follow much for my horoscope or anything but it’s just silly.

    The bird thing? Not silly!!

  6. mairzeebp permalink
    January 15, 2011 10:18 AM

    “Flew into a wall of demons on their way out of the hellmouth” made me laugh out loud. I scared the cat.

  7. January 17, 2011 5:00 PM

    Yea, the astrological chart thing really screwed it all up for me. THANK GOD I never opted to get my sign tattooed on my body (which I had briefly considered while in college).

    As for people who complain about their kids: I know some. And they upset me greatly. I just can’t understand it and it makes me so sad. With so many out there who would love nothing more than to be parents it seems cruel and heartless to complain about your children nonstop.

    Great flips, Amy!

  8. January 17, 2011 6:28 PM

    I taught Tom Sawyer to 7th graders for many, many years, and it had the dreaded “n” word in it, too. Before we began to read it, we talked about the historical background of the book. When we came to that word in our reading aloud, we just said “n” so the kids wouldn’t feel uncomfortable. There was never a problem. It was required reading in our district, and I’m glad we didn’t water it down or change it in any way.

    As for parents who continually rag on their kids, why did they have them?

    Loved your post!

  9. Ericka @ Creative Liar permalink
    January 18, 2011 4:10 PM

    The Huck Finn thing breaks my literary heart.

    PS- My kid is driving me crazy. I need wine.

  10. January 18, 2011 6:09 PM

    I so agree with you on the parents who complain about their kids being home. You had them, now take care of them! It seems the stay at home mothers complain the most!

    And don’t let me get started ont he Huck Finn thing. I suppose we will see all works of art being changed now. A dress added here. A loincloth added there. Literature is art. How on earth can anyone believe that literature can be changed and still be called the work that the author originally wrote. Mark Twain is just spinning in his grave right now.

    • AmyBlam permalink*
      January 18, 2011 6:11 PM

      David is being fitted for a skirt and Venus is sporting pasties and a day glo thong.

Leave a Reply

