Skip to content

Video hasn’t killed ALL the radio stars.

January 26, 2011

Whew. I haven’t posted in a week. But I’m back, I think. I didn’t even have enough time to get annoyed enough to flip anything off.

Last week was crazy, crazy busy. After being out of school for a week for SNOWMYGOD 2011, I just had a bunch of catching up to do. And then I started a new endeavor.

Since I’m sure you are all curious, I’m going to share.

I am going to do a weekly segment on a sports radio channel.

pause for dramatic effect

No really. One hour a week I am going to join The Cole Cubelic Show on 97.7 The Zone. A sports talk channel.

pause for hilarious laughter, snorting and general incredulity.

Okay, I confess it does seem to be an off match. There are few things I know less about than sports. Maybe chemical engineering and cars. Maybe. So I was a little surprised when Cole emailed me to see if I would be interested. But hey, I’m up for anything and said sure.

Seriously. I’m useless at sports. When I was a child, I took golf and tennis lessons at the country club in the summer but all I liked to do was drive the cart and see if I could hit the tennis balls into the road towards passing cars. And then after working up a drop or two of sweat, I’d head back to the pool and order lunch.

I am more likely to call the uniforms outfits and thought a Pro Throw was a thing, not a person (It’s Prothro and he was a wide receiver for the University of Alabama.) I also didn’t know who Mark Ingram was. I was pretty sure he was a football player but didn’t know he won the Heisman-which is apparently a big deal and Reggie Bush had to give one back.

Last Thursday was my first time and it was a blast. For my hour, we talk about the gossip and scandal side of sports. (Like did you know people are buying ground up deer antler from New Zealand or somewhere and using it as a performance enhancing thing? WHO thinks to try that?)

BUT I need YOUR help reader people. Since you are all clever and witty people I need title suggestions for my segment. Anybody? Can you think of a name to call my sports thing? Please?

(Oh, it’s on 9-10 a.m. CST on Thursdays and it even streams live online if for some reason you people that live far far away want to listen. And the channel is awesome in general with lots and lots of people who know lots and lots about sports.)

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 12:46 PM

    Okay, first, that’s awesome. And so much fun! It could just be something as simple as Amy’s Sports Blam. Or maybe Gossip’s a Peach? Oh wait, that’s Georgia. Sorry. Hmm. I may have to think on this a while.

  2. January 26, 2011 12:52 PM

    I’m thinking….I really am…need some time on this one. I really want to use Jock Straps in the name for some reason. Hmmmmm….

  3. mairzeebp permalink
    January 26, 2011 2:53 PM

    Hmm…I’m just spit balling (I have always wanted to say that for some reason) and these may need some work if you happen to like any of them but this is what I’ve thought of so far…

    Blam Bam Get Ready Sports Fans
    Football and Fabulous
    Sports from the Sidelines
    Bringing it from the Bleachers
    Scandal and Sass
    Amy’s Athletic, Sports with a Spin
    Sports Talk in Stilettos
    Stilettos and Sports
    Amy’s Answers
    Sports and Sparkles

  4. January 27, 2011 11:58 AM

    Amy’s Blam Dunk
    Off the field Funnies

  5. January 27, 2011 10:09 PM

    Big time congratulations! And by the way, pink sister, I had no idea who any of those people were you were talking about. It was like you were speaking French or Math or something. I’m sure you were awesome in your sparkly Amyblam way. Since I had a glass of wine while watching the Housewives’ reunion and since I’m a complete lightweight, I can’t use my fuzzy brain to think of a snappy title. I’ll get back to you. Once again, huge, huge congratulations.

  6. allison permalink
    January 28, 2011 10:45 AM

    Amy, I just don’t even know what to think. Is it the end of the world?

  7. January 29, 2011 7:08 PM

    Wow! Congratulations!
    OK, let me think….

    Amy Talks Balls

    No?

    • mairzeebp permalink
      January 31, 2011 8:51 AM

      LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

