Skip to content

Beta strep, not to be confused with Beta fish

February 21, 2011

Damn germ monkeys.
Also? This post is about nothing.
And? I’m dosed up on antibiotics and nighttime Robitussin (for which I was ID’d.) On that note, really? What am I going to do with ONE bottle of nighttime Robitussin? Other than maybe mix it with a glass of red wine and I don’t even feel well enough to do that.

Another random sidenote? When J and I were in Baltimore a few weeks ago, we each ordered a beer and the waitress asked for my ID. And I giggled. Because obviously. Hi, I’m 34. After she looked at it she said, “Wow! You look really good for your age.” Was that an insult? I haven’t decided yet.

ANYWAYS, about two weeks ago I went to the doc and tested positive for strep. Which didn’t surprise me-see aforementioned germ monkeys. Seriously people? Since bratchild was 2, I have had strep every February. Every. February. It’s super.

My doc would LOVE nothing more than to hack my tonsils out but I’m kind of a baby and have heard that really sucks as an adult. PLUS I am still pissed about the sinus surgery he put me through several years ago that I’m convinced made things worse.

AND he won’t even prescribe Latisse for me. Something about not being that kind of doctor. Hrumph.

So I was a good girl and took my 7 days of antibiotics which almost never happens because I get bored or they upset my tummy but I was good this time.

A couple days AFTER I have finished taking my antibiotics, my doctor calls and we have this exchange:

Doc: “Hey, ummm, how are you doing?”
Me: “Fine, little tired but good.”
Doc: “You sure? You finished your antibiotic, right?”
Me: “Yup. Honestly.”
Doc: “Okay, well you’re sure you feel okay? Your strep culture showed that you have beta strep…and that’s unusual.”
Me: “No. I’m okay.” (Of COURSE I have something “unusual.”)
Doc: “Well, how about you call me if you start to feel bad?”

(Seriously. It’s really random. And mainly common amongst pregnant women and they’re baby carrying areas. And I’m not pregnant. I’m on Mirena so if I WAS that poor little fetus has a pre-pierced ear with a pretty tacky, non-sparkly piece of jewelry. Which is okay if it’s a boy. Unless it’s a gay little boy fetus. Help! I ate dinner next to a pregnant lady this weekend but that doesn’t explain the test from 2 weeks ago…)

Yesterday I did START to feel bad. And I blame my doc. I’m very suggestive. Advertising was MADE for people like me. I saw an ad for a Sonic ice cream thing with red velvet flavored ice cream and cheesecake bits and though it sounds DISGUSTING, I am about to send my hubs out for one. Maybe. That might be mean. It’s late.

And Red Lobster? Yeah, I’m looking at you. You suck me in EVERY TIME with your yummy looking commercials and then I am ALWAYS disappointed by your rubber shrimp. But not your garlic cheese biscuits.

So yes, I have beta strep which is NOT to be confused with beta fish aka Japanese fighting fish…or something.

Though I did have a beta fish in college. His name was Charbroil. One night, or Sunday morning as the case may be, after a particularly annoying date and finding my roommate making out with someone on my bed-I crawled out of our living area window, despite the window being right next to our door, and hopped in my car at 4 am to drive home to see my parents.

My “luggage?” I packed about 12 pairs of underwear, three pairs of socks and Charbroil-dumped into a water-glass so he would fit in the cup holder of my little cherry red Plymouth Laser.

All in all, it worked out well. My parents took me shopping and fed me and I drove back to Auburn that night-with Charbroil riding along as my cup holder co-pilot.

What was the point of this post? You got me. I don’t feel good. I am supposed to rest and take my scary sounding antibiotic every 6 hours. I am supposed to WAKE UP to take it, doesn’t that screw with the resting part? (Honestly, I’m very good at the resting part.)

Any of you make any ridiculous college road trips? Perhaps with a fish? In a cup? Anybody?

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 9:58 PM

    I am both confused and amused by this post.

    • AmyBlam permalink*
      February 21, 2011 10:36 PM

      That makes two of us. Plus anyone else who reads this.

  2. LizzieV permalink
    February 21, 2011 11:13 PM

    I never took a road trip with Q (short for Quetzalcoatl,) but after I got a kitten, well, no matter where I put the brandy snifter Q lived in, that cat would see him & wreck my stuff trying to get to it. I had to hide Q in one of those frosted Rubbermaid foodstorage containers– with the number-coordinated lid snapped on– until I could take him over to Shan & Bill’s house to live.

    On another note, any college trip to the Gulf turned bizarre, even without fish.

  3. February 22, 2011 7:32 AM

    Amy, Amy, Amy…ALWAYS finish your antibiotics prescription! And that Sonic milkshake? Gotta say, it does sound pretty gross, which means I’m going to want one, too. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  4. February 22, 2011 7:32 AM

    After getting strep throat 3 times in 3 months, my doc said the tonsils had to go. I was 28. Yes, the surgery sucked, but in the 9 years since I had the surgery, I haven’t gotten strep again. In fact, I can count on one hand the number of sore throats I’ve had in the last 9 years. It sucks in the short term, but well worth it in the long term.

  5. February 22, 2011 8:46 AM

    Oh, so many ridiculous college road trips. Is there any other kind?

    And isn’t that what college is FOR, anyway?

  6. February 22, 2011 10:42 AM

    I had a goldfish in college. I liked it. It was easy to take care of. Too easy. Just put it in a bowl and wash the bowl once in a while. We had an awesome hair washing sink in my dorm, so I would blast the hell out of the rocks every few weeks. He had a very clean bowl. When the end of the year came, I had to bring him home. I could not give him to someone! So I put him in a rubbermaid drink container. And brought him home on the plane!! Clearly this was pre 9/11~! Can you imagine today! the horrors! He survived the flight which shocked me. I had no idea if he would explode in flight. And I brought him home. And I guess he didn’t like the new water here. We have clean, non chlorinated water. He did know what to do. So he croaked. A very sad story, indeed.

  7. February 22, 2011 10:24 PM

    I blame my doc…I’m very suggestive….bahahahaha!
    I get strep as well, so you have my deepest sympathies! I applaud you for finding the strength to blog! True dedication and really quite worth it, I giggled my way through this!

  8. February 24, 2011 2:41 PM

    I’m also both confused and amused…but that’s because I’m on drugs too (unfortunately, nothing stronger than some DayQuil and antibiotic). When you write posts like this, it just reconfirms why I love you 🙂

  9. February 25, 2011 9:44 AM

    You crack me up! And yes, that Beta Strep thing is weird. I am a Strep B carrier, wonder if that is the same thing, although I’ve never “had” it which is one of the reasons why they think The Tortoise was born 8 1/2 weeks early. Amazingly, this post did not confuse me.

  10. February 27, 2011 12:45 AM

    You know what? Not to scare you, but if they can’t knock out this Beta thing..they’ll yank them.

    Sure as shinola, they’ll yank them.

  11. February 27, 2011 3:32 PM

    I hate strep. I’ve been lucky enough to have not had it in a few years (knock on wood). Pain in the butt.

Leave a Reply

