Skip to content

Going green and gettin’ lucky. But not in Kentucky. Here in Alabama.

March 16, 2011

Some of you have possibly heard us ridiculed on Chelsea Lately. Or talk radio. Or various other late night shows.

Correction: MANY of you have probably heard the good ol’ state of Alabama be ridiculed somewhere in some form or fashion. Personally, I love it here. And I’ve never worn camouflage.

One of my fave topics of ridicule is the store Pleasures. And Sherri, the lady who owns it. They sell sex toys and outfits and videos and even host an intimacy clinic-though I can think of FEW things less intimate than a clinic. About intimacy.

There’s been hullabaloo because sex toys are illegal here. And THEN she opened up a drive-thru sex shop. (Which totally makes me giggle. Ummm…no, not THAT one. Do you have it in purple? Something quieter? Do these thongs fit okay? Can I try them on in the car?)

ANYnaked. The lady who owns it is actually pretty smart. She’s all about getting the attention. For Valentine’s Day, people were offered the chance to exchange guns for sex toys-make love, not war and all that.

In the spirit of St. Patrick’s Day and the luck of the Irish and snakes being driven out (giggle. snort.), she’s offering people a chance to get lucky AND be environmentally friendly at the same time.

Bringing in used batteries will earn you your very own solar-powered sex toy. For free.

Wha…

So, how does that work?

Oh well, it’s cloudy outside-no getting lucky for me.

Sorry neighbors, don’t mind me enjoying the sunny day. Naked. In my front yard.  (The lack of tan lines is a plus. So really it’s a time saver.)

Oh good lord, that date was horrible, guess I have to wait until the morning to get any satisfaction?

Welcome to my home, please wipe your feet on the mat and not on my sex toy. It’s charging for later.

My husband has been out-of-town for three weeks and it’s rained every single day. This sucks.

Oh…I could go on and on. Unlike the solar-powered marital device-I don’t need sunshine to work.

Happy St. Patty’s day to you all! I hope you avoid pinches…or get them depending on what you’re into.

My hubs and I actually met in a bathroom five years ago today. Who says romance is dead?

I’d really LOVE to know if anyone has tried one-PLEASE share below. If not, thoughts?

© Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Amy Lloyd Mayfield and Amy’s Blam with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 6:36 AM

    I adore Sherri! Since moving here in 2009 we have had to defend this state to all our friends (and it hasn’t always been easy, especially during election season). As far as I’m concerned, Sherri is bringing the right kind of publicity to our state. Sherri 4 Governor anyone?

  2. March 19, 2011 7:06 PM

    Sherry is my hero. I love the idea of the drive-thru sex shop! Interesting…

    And LOL @ all the ways your solar-powered toys may not be as effective. :p

  3. March 21, 2011 5:25 AM

    I’d love to see the pictures on that drive-thru menu. Plus, that brings a whole new meaning to the question, “would you like that supersized?”

    – emily

  4. March 21, 2011 7:10 PM

    A drive-thru sex shop, eh. That totally would have made millions on the army base where I lived. There were a lot of lonely ladies while the hubbies were in Afghanistan.

  5. March 23, 2011 6:40 AM

    sex toys are illegal?! are you serious?!!? lmfao that’s so dumb!! but a drive thru sex shop… can I get one of those here in NJ? haha

    • March 23, 2011 6:41 AM

      can I just add that … your state would flip at what we have in MY area of town. We have an entire “highway” (more of a straight through) with nothing BUT sex shops and noody bars all down it. i’m not kidding. lmao!!

  6. Allison C. permalink
    March 23, 2011 11:59 AM

    You may not need sunshine to work, but you put the sunshine in my day today. OMG!

  7. March 23, 2011 7:32 PM

    Hi Amy. Happy to meet you through #CommentHour.

Leave a Reply

