Skip to content

Do you wash your underwear before you wear it?

June 16, 2011

Yesterday at work, I was lamenting that I had stopped on my way in to put gas in my car. Which I hate. It’s hot, you have to wait around outside, the machines are dirty and there’s that ever-present catching on fire risk. This is not a winning combo.

I pointed out that I don’t like to pump gas and try not to do it very often. When I was in high school, my dad usually put gas in my car. Until I went to college, it was not a regular occurrence.

Which then reminded me how I had never done laundry until I went to college. I hated that as well. And the dorm laundry rooms? Were awful. If you missed the end of the washer by .333 seconds, you’d come back to your wet clothes flung on a table somewhere. Super.

To prolong the length of time before I had to do laundry, I would buy new underwear. All the girls were ewwwing and one said that was skanky. If the purpose of new underwear was to AVOID laundry-why would I wash them first? That would be silly. (Of course, to further illustrate my college mindset, I also used to write checks at Taco Bell and was quite tickled when it overdrew my account because it meant money would automatically come from my parents’ account. I hope my child never figures this out. Or reads this blog as that would give it away.)

I was buying just the regular Hanes cotton bikinis and they were sealed-if I was buying fancy underthings I TOTALLY would have washed them first. (I’ve worked in a department store and sometimes the things people try on/do/return are gross.)

And THEN that started a whole thing about them not thinking I was a cotton underwear kind of person. Seriously? I ADORE granny panties. I wear those or seamless no panty line underwear. (I hate the word panty.)

At this stage in my life, I am far less concerned about being “cute” and having lace in my asscrack then being comfortable and not having panty lines.

Are you cute or comfortable? Do you wash all your underwear before you wear it?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 9:37 AM

    bwahahaha I love my granny panties too! Hate panty lines and seeing other’s thongs when they bend over UGH! nasty

  2. Marcie permalink
    June 16, 2011 9:41 AM

    I do wash my underwear before I wear it, but I rarely buy plain cotton undies. When you have booty like me it’s thongs or boy shorts all the way and once they’ve been packaged and shipped from VS or whoever, you cannot wear them before you wash them. I do not, however, gentle wash my underwear (I, too, loathe the word panty), I just throw it in with everything eles, I don’t have time to be hand washing things. If it can’t be regular washed or gentle washed and hung up, then there’s no use in me buying it… sort of like when buttons fall off and I immediately donate the clothing item because I have neither the time nor the knowledge to sew something back on and I can’t afford to take it to someone to do it.

  3. Sam permalink
    June 16, 2011 8:22 PM

    This is kind of funny because I just had this same conversation with my soon to be hubby the other day. No, I wash my undies before I wear them. I do this because I was in high school, thought the same as you, and figured if they were sealed then who cares. Well, I do now. After this one particular time I wore newly unwashed underwear, I came home with a HUGE rash in the crease of my leg where my “whoha” meet. I had an allergic reaction to the dye or one of the chemicals in the underwear. It was one of the most painful things ever!!

    I faithfully wash all undergarments, and anything else that will be touching my body for that matter, before wearing!

  4. June 19, 2011 11:12 AM

    I always wash the undies before I wear them, but mostly because, as Sam stated above, I have incredibly sensitive skin and have a tendency to break out because of dyes/chemicals used on them.

    Ugh, don’t you HATE when people remove your clothes from the laundry machine to put them on some gross surface?! The last apartment building I lived in, there was always a girl who would do this. And I totally timed my wash times, so I think she was reaching in early to shut the machine off. B*tch. LOL!

  5. March 14, 2012 6:35 AM

    usually i buy underwear in a sealed packet so i dont find the reason,any particular reason of washin dem before wearing them…

Leave a Reply

