Skip to content

I’m the red beans to his rice

July 22, 2011

The other night we were enjoying Margarita Wednesday with some friends at a place called Los Mariachis and for some reason, my hubs proclaimed that I was the red beans to his rice.

In all seriousness I looked at him and asked if this meant I made him gassy.

Other than the kind of cute cobalt dish, this does not appear to be a particularly flattering proclamation. Because of my food touching/texture/refusal to eat certain items I have never actually had red beans and rice but my born and raised outside of New Orleans husband LOVES them.

So whereas I decided he was calling me squishy and gas-inducing-he was actually saying I add the spice and flavor to his life.

Well, when you look at it that way it’s sweet.

Especially considering not five minutes before we had this exchange:
 Me: “Hey, remember the movie with Lisa Bonet and the gun and the guy that used to be hot and now he’s fugly and the whoop, whoop, whoop?”
J: “Angelheart?”
Me: “Yes! That’s EXACTLY what the foyer of this restaurant looks like.”

So yes, I am the red beans to his rice. In a good, non-gassy way.

(Also? If you should eat at Los Mariachies soon, please check and see if the lion head in the fountain is still sporting a mustache.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2011 9:24 PM

    Considering that I, too, think red beans and rice are a FANTASTIC combination, I think you have a good thing going! 😉

  2. July 24, 2011 1:35 PM

    Hi Amy-I found you through Joann’s blog. Speaking of Joann, I seem to recall her saying once that she has a fantastic red beans and rice recipe and something about the secret ingredient being vinegar. Just in case you ever wanted to try them. Looking forward to following you.

  3. August 3, 2011 5:45 AM

    That is sweet (and gassy) but mostly sweet!

  4. August 9, 2011 9:19 AM

    Hahaha!! Isn’t that sweet? I love how things don’t always come out just right (pun intended, kind of?).

  5. August 15, 2011 8:37 AM

    I think this is sweet 🙂

  6. August 29, 2011 1:12 PM

    Very cute! Sometimes the hubs do say the sweetest things in the funniest ways.

  7. September 5, 2011 12:47 PM

    Love your humor! And, as other have said – you guys sound so sweet together (awww.).

Leave a Reply

