Skip to content

Wait-did the University of Alabama win the National Championship?

August 29, 2011

Guess who said what in this conversation.

When the hubs and I were in Maryland a few days ago, we were both surprised to see the Old Navy commercial featuring attire for fans of the University of Alabama.

Haven’t seen it? Here it is: http://youtu.be/KZjmn_zHtG8

Go watch it and come back. I’ll wait.

We had this exchange:
Person 1: I wonder why they’re showing this commercial in Maryland?
Person 2: Probably has something to do with them winning the National Championship
Person 1: Ummm, they didn’t win the National Championship-the team of the guy with the pizza did.
Person 2: Oh, yeah. I guess that’s right.

If you THOUGHT I was Person 2, you would be wrong. J thought Alabama won the National Championships. I’m pretty pleased with myself right now.

(I also went to the school of the guys that brings the pizza, War Eagle!) I would like someone to explain to me why Alabama is featured, I don’t get it.

I guess I have learned a thing or two doing the Sports Blam once a week on 97.7 The Zone with Cubelic and the Kid.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    August 29, 2011 6:49 AM

    They are a very high-profile, recognizable team. Alabama is currently pre-ranked as the #1 team in the nation and they did win the championship in 2009. Auburn did in 2010. I think it has to do more with the Alabama/Auburn rivalry, though. Looks like the commercial is about an opposing fan crashing a tailgate, and the Iron Bowl is arguably the most heated rivalry in sports.

  2. Jenny permalink
    August 29, 2011 6:57 AM

    Ha! Okay, I am an Alabama fan, but I have a couple of ideas:
    1.) To the general public, who doesn’t get into football and is more about, *glitter*, there are only a couple of school names that even bleep on the radar. Alabama is one of those.
    2.). Alabama won the year before, Auburn this year – both hadHeisman winners in the same year they won, so most know about the rivalry now. Likely the execs know football and that Auburn will return to pizza delivery status.

    Love you – Roll Tide

  3. scherbert78 permalink
    August 29, 2011 7:13 AM

    War Eagle huh? Well, atleast your an SEC gal. Nice to meet ya and good post, it was a great way to help me get out of the Monday morning funk, but atleast this monday is different because it’s now GAME WEEK! Go Dawgs, feel free to check out my 2nd ever blog post about my life in college football, http://scottysthoughts.wordpress.com/page/2/

  4. September 1, 2011 8:40 AM

    Yeah maybe, OR maybe you learned a thing or two from me, Shelly and Elizabeth. 🙂

    For the record, I’ll never forget the time you asked who Gene Stallings was and if Cam Ingram won the Heisman.

  5. September 2, 2011 7:27 AM

    That commercial cracked me up! But probably for all the wrong reasons: the corny music, the overly dramatic faces and the oh so Brady Bunch backyard BBQ. I don’t have a clue about sports, so you impress me easily.

  6. September 2, 2011 11:21 AM

    I wish I knew what any of this meant. But the other day, someone told me they were going to watch the Eagles and I had “Hotel California” stuck in my head for hours. I had no idea they were also a team.

    I would have failed in this conversation you had. But go you for knowing your sports trivia!!! 🙂

  7. September 2, 2011 2:43 PM

    You are a true Southern Gal!!! My hubby & I were “Up North” on a trip last year & watched the Alabama vs Tenn game in a bar – the local men couldn’t believe how involved I was as a woman! One reason I believe Old Navy chose Alabama – yes, it is one of the most recognizable football teams – but it is also one of the highest grossing in sales! Anyone in retail – no matter where you live – knows Bama fans are avid, live all over, and will spend the money. Alabama items outsell Auburn almost two to one, and I have seen this to be true. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

