Skip to content

Missoni Madness

September 13, 2011

Missoni for Target came out today and while I’ve never been particularly enthused about many of Target’s designer collaborations, I was pretty interested in this one. (Anyone remember Jean Paul Gaultier or Anna Sui? Not pretty.)

We had a family portrait, excuse me-generational portrait (mom, sister, me, bratchild) with one of my favorite photographers, Bookout Studios, this morning that put us at Target right at 11. Considering I thought Target opened at 10, I figured there would be plenty of stuff left.

In light of the fact that A. Target actually opens at 8 (clearly I don’t shop early) and B. the Target website was crashed all morning, I should have taken that as a sign.

Now, I’m really not trying to be ugly. Truly I’m not (I guess I’m just good at it) but I was shocked and appalled at the behavior of people shopping and their personal style. Bless her little black heart, but I just didn’t expect the 70-year-old woman in a day glo green tent top and flowered capris who was also wearing red eyeglasses a la Sally Jesse to be shopping the Missoni line. Granted, I also didn’t expect her to elbow me and try to take a cardigan out of my hands. Lesson learned.

Regardless, things were pretty picked over and I see now that we didn’t even get close to the full clothing line. But I did manage to snag the sweater and dress I had been eyeing in the ads.

And, yes, I WILL be wearing this with black tights because oh my lord this is short. And I’m 5’2″ and not a glamazon like Miss Happy in the photo.

I did buy the shoes to wear as well but took them back as I wasn’t super pleased with the quality. They felt rough and the pair I bought had color smears and rubs on the zig zags. I also thought they ran big and had to go down half a size. I may regret returning these but even at $39.99 I didn’t want to buy questionable shoes. I prefer to buy things perfect and screw them up on my own.

Bratchild got the ballet flats. She needed the women’s 6 and, well, a 40ish woman in hot pink Umbros (I didn’t even know they still made those and no, if you are out of the teens and not playing soccer, you probably shouldn’t be wearing them) was a little shovey as my store only received one 6. We emerged victorious despite her running into bratchild with her cart while she was trying on the shoes.

Another purchase that has already been returned was the floppy felt hat (which they are merchandising with bathing suits on Target.com. Because, yes, in the summer I enjoy heavy, felt, black hats that would make my head feel like it was being microwaved.) Anyhoo, the hat went back because A. I’d rather have a black floppy felt hat without the print and B. it was a little cheaply made. The band wasn’t stitched down the whole way and you could tell it wasn’t going to stay in place for long.) Friends, if you’ve learned nothing else from me (it is admittedly easy to NOT learn anything), please make note that there is a difference between inexpensive and cheap. (I do realize this is brown. Mine was not.)The kids line was cute but the price made it not inexpensive kids clothing and not expensive enough to be “nice” clothing. And the bras? Oh for the love of waffles, the bras. I could have perhaps fit a nipple in the flimsy fabric they labelled a bra. Some of the housewares were cute but they don’t go with anything I own. Had they come out earlier, I think the bedding/curtains/etc would be perfect for dorm rooms.

But apparently it was a craze around the country. Stores sold out, the website crashed and in some cases, people lined up around the block starting at Odarkthirty. I don’t know that I would even line up for free cashmere sweaters at 5 a.m….

Did you shop Missoni for Target today? What did you think?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 7:59 PM

    Wow! It was CRAZY out there today! I didn’t get to Target until 2pm. Silly me, I figured because I live at the BEACH, in South Alabama, no one would even KNOW what Missoni was…one word: DUMB. Very picked over here but I did manage to score a few goodies, also had my sister and BFF shopping for me at their Target stores. I’m happy to get the few things I did…wonder if they will restock? All day, at every Target, we were told “no” – the line wouldn’t be restocked. I find that hard to believe, given it’s popularity today. It takes a lot to crash Target’s website! 🙂 I’ll be blogging my goodies tomorrow on Shopaholic In Alabama, be sure to check it out! XOXO

    • AmyBlam permalink*
      September 13, 2011 8:02 PM

      Can’t wait to check out your post and see what you got! A couple of the news stories I read said they wouldn’t be re-stocking as limited quantities were made and that Target is looking at pulling the ads. I didn’t expect it to be anything like that!

  2. September 16, 2011 11:33 AM

    I know this will surely surprise you Amy, but I didn’t even know what Missoni was until this post. And honestly, I’m not impressed. I would get up at 5 a.m. for free cashmere sweaters, but not some zigzag outfit resembling 1960s Ric-Rac. This stuff is so ugly. I did, however, laugh hysterically at this post and your descriptions. I miss you already!

  3. September 19, 2011 7:50 PM

    Ohh you are really on top of things….when I finally made it to Target there was just a tumbleweed rolling down the aisle…..that dress is so cute!!!

Leave a Reply

