Skip to content

A trunk full of shoes

September 22, 2011

For the past several days I have been driving around with a trunk full of shoes.

This all started because we had a garage sale about a week ago. I don’t know why I still have garage sales. People drive me nuts and I was really hoping J would let me wield one of his swords against one older lady in particular. (How fun/intimidating/terrifying would be me waving around a fancy, shiny sword? Don’t worry. They are locked in a case somewhere.)

And when they show up crazy early when it’s still dark and I’m wearing pj’s and moving crap? It makes me stabby.

Our last garage sale I sold a set of letter stamps for 25 cents to a very nice, and chatty, little old man. The next day our doorbell rang about 6:30 a.m. J answered the door only for the old man to tell him we were missing the f. No, he didn’t want a refund. He just wanted us to call him if we found the f.

Okay then. This is why I hate garage sales.

I decided to clean out my shoes because A. it was better than putting away laundry and B. I’d lost count at 155 pairs. Shoes needed to go.

Some hadn’t been worn in, well, ever. Some were uncomfortable. Some might have been purchased while drinking in Vegas…allegedly.

For once, I didn’t have a super successful garage sale and sold very few pairs of shoes. I needed less of an old clientele and more of a drag queen/gets paid by the hour client base.

At the end of the day, my mom was planning her neighborhood garage sale. I think this scared J as he immediately offered me $40 for everything I had left if he could take it to Goodwill and NOT put it back in the house. Immediately, I was impressed with my salesmanship. I mean, here I was selling shit to somebody that had probably already paid for it in the first place. Genius!

My elation turned to panic as I realized he wanted to take my sparkles and stilettos and fanciness-much of it new in the box to Goodwill. It made me sad. So as he was loading stuff in his truck, I was frantically flinging shoes the first place I could think of-MY trunk.

I spent FOUR days with a trunk full of shoes while I debated their fate. One consignment store wanted me to make an appointment to come back in two weeks and let them look at my shoes. I was offended and left. I couldn’t have shoes in my trunk for two weeks.

I took them to a consignment store that had both Lilly and Louis and felt like they would be safe there. I hope they get adopted by a good family-the kind with lots of glitter.

How do you say goodbye to shoes? I was a little verklempt.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 11:25 AM

    I loved the bit about selling stuff back to the one who originally paid for it. Brilliant, and a great way to keep hubby in a constant state of uncertainty!

Leave a Reply

