Skip to content

Requires Adult Supervision should be tattoed on my body. Somewhere visible.

October 5, 2011

Bratchild bought me a footed face pot. For years, and for some strange reason, I’ve loved pots, sculptures, etc with faces on them, hidden in them, etc. I don’t know why. I just do.

So I was THRILLED when bratchild bought me a present from a high-end nursery in town and it was this pretty footed face pot. I promptly planted something in him and perched him on the front porch. Old Man Winter, who took up residence in North Alabama this year, decided to freeze and crack the face pot and I was bummed. As bratchild and I were starting fall plantings and, most importantly, Halloween decor it was clear the time had come to fix him.

Enter Gorilla Glue. I’m honestly fairly certain that on the bottle it says something about adult supervision/use/etc but hey, I’m 34 and fairly responsible with a job and child and husband and dog. I’m totally an adult-as hilarious as that is.

There MAY have been instructions but I didn’t read them. It’s glue. How hard can it be?

Well…you can judge that:

 

So, couple of things here. Gorilla Glue is FAR drippier than I expected, it doesn’t dry clear AND it will stick some shit together. How do I know this? Because that pot? Is now permanently adhered to my front porch. If anyone knows how to de-adhere things that have been, shall we say, accidentally, attached with Gorilla Glue-that would be super.

Stick around folks, this was just a pot and I have been in full-on Halloween creating mode. There’s been an unfortunate glitter incident, 9 dozen eyeballs bouncing through my kitchen and a bloody nose. Just call me Martha. Except without the cooking. And unfortunate jail time. And no minions. I am in desperate need of minions. Particularly ones that are allowed to use power tools i.e. a jigsaw. Oh the things I could do with a minion and a jigsaw…

Our wedding anniversary is coming up and I asked J for two early presents; a new computer and/or a jigsaw. Guess which one he went with? Hint: I’m not typing on a jigsaw. I AM however typing with a right hand covered in black spray paint. I asked J the other day if he had any spray paint and he said no. So I went and bought my own. Surprise, surprise, he magically produced TWO cans of black spray paint. Maybe he thought if he didn’t enable me I’d get bored and move on to something that wouldn’t render black painted circles in our grass? At least it wasn’t the driveway…(cough, cough Mom.)

How’s your fall readying going?

I’m also currently completely addicted to Pinterest which is not helping my DIY addiction. Come hang out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy's Mom permalink
    October 5, 2011 9:03 PM

    Awwww, I wanna hear the story about the papier mache legs, please please please?

  2. October 6, 2011 7:39 AM

    maybe you could spray paint the pot to cover the drips…

  3. October 6, 2011 3:18 PM

    Nice Pot!!! Loved the story!

  4. October 7, 2011 9:24 PM

    I always manage to glue everything but the injured item. Usually my fingers. Did you try nail polish remover? It’s probably too late, but next time…

Leave a Reply

