Skip to content

How my cooking saved Thanksgiving

December 6, 2011

Okay, the title is ever so slightly misleading as Thanksgiving was never in any real state of peril AND I only made one thing. BUT everyone agreed it was the best one thing. J fried about a bajillion turkey breasts that were equally delicious but due to the danger factor and probability of flames I am not allowed to take part and so I know nothing about it.

Instead, I shall share my holiday saving recipe with you. I call it Wild Rice Casserole. I had one years ago and came across several recipes so I could attempt to re-create it but none sounded quite right (or had ingredients I don’t care for/have texture issues with) so I made up my own.

What you’ll need:

a box of wild rice
a can of cream of mushroom with roasted garlic
sausage-mild or hot
a can of sliced water chestnuts
a container of fried onions

Preheat your oven to 350. Cook rice. Brown sausage.

Mix rice, sausage, soup and water chestnuts in a bowl. (Don’t add water to the soup and, no, I don’t drain my sausage.) Top with fried onions.

I bake it for 30 minutes on 350. I have no real reason for this other than lots of things bake at 350 for 30 minutes and turn out delicious. As does this. You could probably bake it for less but don’t hold me responsible if your holiday ends up in ruins as a result.

It’s even super awesome reheated and eaten later.

19 days till Christmas! HOW did that happen?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 12:04 PM

    That sounds great and easy enough to make. Thanks for sharing.

    Gah! Don’t remind me… Of course, I haven’t started ANY of my holiday shopping yet. Oy.

  2. December 6, 2011 12:42 PM

    Mmmm…Suddenly I’m ravenous!

Leave a Reply

