Skip to content

And yes, my sister threatens to beat me over an email conversation about Oreo Balls

December 19, 2011

Despite my weirdness with food texture and preferring my foods not to touch-I think we’re all surprised we don’t have cafeteria divided trays for use at our home-there are some casseroles and food mixtures that I like. Thanks to a co-worker, I recently discovered the wonder that is Oreo Balls. I don’t know what the “real” name but the tasty treats afforded me the chance to ask EVERYONE if they had tried the chocolate balls yet. Of course, I found this hilarious.

My sister SWEARS up and down that she has made these for Christmas before. I don’t remember them but that could be due to too many Christmas morning mimosas (I take mine without the orange juice) or because I was having severe food texture/touching issues that particular day.

Regardless, they are yummy and delicious and everyone says they are super easy and that even I could make them with a rolling-pin or a food processor. My first challenge being I don’t think we own a rolling-pin OR a food processor.

My sister  is well aware of my cooking limitations which is what led to the following email exchange when discussing goodies for Christmas:

Me: I am going to make Oreo ball things. They are yummy Oreos mushed up with cream cheese and covered in something.That’s all I know currently.
Miss: yes, i know what Oreo balls are….I have actually made them for christmas before….actually numerous christmases….they are covered in chocolate by the way. and there is this new handy bakers chocolate bowl that you microwave and it makes it really easy to dip chocolate. you should use that if you make them. they are by the regular chocolate in the baking aisle. you will need a few of them as the bowls are not too big. and stick the Oreo ball on a toothpick to dip with. 🙂
Me:You just made that sound super hard. I didn’t know I would need accessories and stuff. So the bowl is made of chocolate?
Miss:  it is not hard. you mash up the Oreos in a big plastic bag. with a mallet. (if you had a food processor you throw them in there but i am guessing you don’t). then you mix it with softened cream cheese. after you mix the cream cheese and Oreos you roll them into balls and refrigerate them. they need to be pretty cold before you cover them in chocolate. these are really easy to make and are always a big hit. if you want me to help you i will….the chocolate bowl comes ready. you just pull the lid off and throw it in the microwave and the chocolate melts. then you dip the Oreo balls. you don’t have to make a chocolate bowl or anything. silly girl. it just makes melting chocolate easier and not have to use a double boiler or milk or anything
Me: So the bowl is MADE of chocolate? But when it melts doesn’t it make a mess. Do I just rub the balls in the puddle in the microwave?
Miss: i am going to beat you! no, it is a cardboard bowl filled with chocolate pieces…seriously…do you need me to teach you how to make these?

I think my FAVORITE part, other than my sister offering to beat me, is that she actually thought J would go for me using a mallet…or that she thought I would have any idea what a double boiler is.

I did find a recipe online for them that is actually labelled Easy Oreo Truffles. Now I just have to buy wax paper,  a mallet, baking sheets, learn how to soften cream cheese and clean out space in the refrigerator. They leave all of that out of their “easy” instructions. I figure I will get bored and just eat the bowl of malleted Oreos and non-softened cream cheese…

Anyone ever made these?

Six days till Christmas!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2011 11:14 AM

    You’re funny. I am domestically challenged especially in the kitchen, but I have made oreo muffins before. No mallet needed, just put them in a big baggie and let the kids beat on them. At least that way they feel like they have contributed 🙂 Happy Baking!!!!

  2. AmyBlam permalink*
    December 19, 2011 11:24 AM

    I like it. Make the kids do the work…might be safer for bratchild to wield the mallet anyways.

  3. December 19, 2011 11:37 AM

    I’ve made them and I know you. You can actually do this one. 🙂

  4. December 19, 2011 8:18 PM

    you’re hysterical.

    me? I like funny.

    consider {plum} your newest fan!

    thanks for dropping by.

    best – d.

    post script – don’t forget, shoulder back.

  5. December 20, 2011 12:55 PM

    Those sound really good! I too have cooking woes, but maybe I’ll give them a shot?

  6. allison permalink
    December 20, 2011 4:01 PM

    Hey, master these and then bring to a J&T event. Please.

Leave a Reply

