Skip to content

What I’ve been reading…Also? Hooray for the possibility of prizes

January 16, 2012

I’m a big reader. Always have been. As a child, I strongly preferred sitting and reading or doing something imaginative to playing sports or attempting to catch a ball. My proclivity to nosebleeds and inability to catch things had nothing whatsoever to do with my choice in activities.

Prior to the end of the year, a friend invited me to the Madison Mega-Marathon; an event I promptly ignored because yuck sports, see above, and yuck sweating. But then I looked at it and realized it was a reading marathon-so no sweating and no ridiculous sports bras or ugly shoes. And today I realized there are prizes so…competitive reading? I am all over that.

At 35, oh jeebus when did I turn 35? Right. Last week. More on that later. Anyhoo-I still am all about prizes and bribes totally work on me as well.

Since January 1, I have read The Family Fang, Fiction Ruined My Family, Beautiful People, Water for Elephants and am working my way through Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

I enjoyed The Family Fang-it wasn’t as funny as I had hoped but I enjoyed it. It’s the tale of a family where the parents are ridiculous and create “art” which is basically chaos in public places. I manage to do that most times when I leave the house…I just never knew I could call it art and apply for grants. Already today I called a kid an f-ing idiot because he was using lemon tongs to pick melted ice out of the bowl of lemons instead of using a scoop and getting ice from the giant receptacle marked “ice.” Also? He was blocking my access to my first diet coke of the morning which makes me stabby.

Fiction Ruined My Family is a memoir and, also not as funny as I expected/hoped. Of course, since the title talks about a ruined family and it’s all about alcoholism and dysfunctional families, I’m not super sure why I expected it to be a laugh a minute but I did. And it wasn’t. And it made me question my desire to be a writer and convinced me F. Scott Fitzgerald was a total asshat and made me love The Great Gatsby a little less.

Beautiful People was an easy read by a British author I like named Wendy Holden. That’s about all I can say about it. Funny, easy, don’t really have to think. Good for the beach or cold gray days inside.

Water for Elephants is a book I fought reading because I couldn’t take a book seriously that was made into a movie starring a vampire and Reese Witherspoon and animal stories make me cry and I am scared of clowns. (This is true-I almost had a complete breakdown watching Bambi–why is it a kids movie–and Free Willy.) But I read it anyways and I just adored it-mainly because there weren’t so many clowns.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me is hilarious. I picked it because Amazon kept shoving it in my face. Having never seen The Office, the fact that the author wrote for the show or was on the show or something wasn’t exactly a glowing recommendation. BUT so far, I love it and have been laughing out loud. Sometimes Amazon knows me so well. Of course, Amazon also keeps recommending Crafting With Cat Hair and in light of my extreme cat allergy, I don’t think I will be picking it up. I am also questioning what I have possibly searched for to create this recommendation. (Dog lovers don’t despair-you’re not left out of the crazy craft craze. Pick up Knitting With Dog Hair: Better a Sweater from a Dog You Know and Love than a Sheep You’ll Never Meet.)

Sidenote: it totally pisses me off when Kindle books are more expensive than the actual book. And I have to get a library card to be eligible for prizes.

What have you read lately?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 11:45 PM

    Love the post… And how much you read!?! Good lord! Since Jan 1st, I’ve been reading Why Woman Need Fat, an awesome book on why we should eat more butter… And I’m working on Five Smooth Stones… A freaking TOME, but so great. Still haven’t finished all of it,but with a toddler? Oy. Working on it,

  2. January 17, 2012 1:33 PM

    Wow, who knew dogs could be so useful?

Leave a Reply

