Skip to content

The Fairy Follies: a how to-ish post

April 19, 2012

I’m jazzed to share my latest creation as a part of the Lisa Kettell Design Team. I can’t help it, I love to make little theatres and shrines and, again, I can’t say no to glitter.

Supplies Used:
Lisa Kettell Steampunk Moon Small
Lisa Kettell Fairytale Follies Collage CD
Square Shrine Opera House Digital Collage Sheet
Paper mache box
A smidge of acrylic paint
Stickles in a variety of colors
Scissors
Cutting Mat
Glue
Xacto knife
Small bits of adhesive foam
White cardstock

To start with my box was deeper than I wanted it to be and didn’t have a hole in the front. So I made the box shorter and used my xacto knife to cut a square out of the box top. (Do I need to remind people to cut carefully?) I used four different images from the Fairytale Follies CD and sized them down considerably.

The backdrop I printed at around 4 inches and the fairies inside were printed around 2.5 I glued the backdrop to the back of the inside, carefully cut out the fairies and attached them using the foam adhesive. I layered two pieces on the women and just one on the back of the couple so they’d have different depths. I painted the moon with gray acrylic paint, set him aside to dry and then smeared some silver Stickles on him. The “stars” are just dots of Diamond Stickles.

I can’t resist adding sparkles to everything and I love the way Stickles hold their shape and are easy to write with. The blue at the bottom was an off brand that didn’t work out well.

I didn’t completely cover the interior since my theatre facade has a good bit of overhang. To make it, I carefully cut out all the nooks and crannies, trimmed it in Gold Stickles and attached the fabulous fairy head from the Collage CD that I had sized down. Make sure you line up the bottom of the opera facade closely with the box top to avoid any standing issues or cardstock wrinkling.

I applied a little glue and slapped it all together:

I can’t get enough of the Fairytale Follies Collage CD. It will keep you crafting happily for a super long time.  What are you working on?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 6:07 PM

    I love this, especially the moon and the depth you create, so it looks like an actual stage. Thanks for inspiring me to use my moons. I’m also so curious about Lisa’s CDs (didn’t get one in my package…maybe in the next one!) –Wendy

    • AmyBlam permalink*
      April 19, 2012 6:08 PM

      Thank you! I love the moons; they are one of my favorites!

  2. April 20, 2012 8:01 PM

    I have 2 little girls and this is a great project for us to do together!! Thanks for the post 🙂

Leave a Reply

